Goodbye Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Little Rock
March 12th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was the first of all the days off in Dallas I actually got up in time for breakfast. There’s nothing quite like waffles in the shape of Texas. Craig was at the bus shop, so Beth and I just hung out in our room; well, actually, I was checking me eyelids for holes, if you know what I mean. Craig came and got us and took us to the shop; Beth left us from there in the van, headed for Little Rock, I think. A bit later, as we were still waiting for the bus to get finished, Uncle Brother Doug came to bring Florence back to us. She’s been with him since Thursday when she got her wisdom teeth out. It was so nice to see them both! As I’ve been reflecting on things, I’ve been continually surprised by how much I’ve missed these people. I see them everyday at breakfast, then at work, then when we have time off, and at night when we go to bed, and all the sudden I go a few days (or hours even) and it seems weird. Maybe it’s because I haven’t been doing anything either, so I’ve been bored without them. I don’t know.

Craig, Florence and I hit the road in the bus- my first real bus ride (other than short trips to dinner and whatnot.) Nothing overly exciting. We’re back in ARRRRkansas- where the pirates are from. Florence is in and out of consciousness, and we took away her hard-core pain killers.

Joe called me from Mosaic so all the students could say hi to me and I could say hi to them. Then I stayed on for the message. So nice! I felt like I was a part of it; like I was there. When they yelled hello, I could pick out several of the students’ voices and I had them guess where I was. Someone said Texas, Alabama, a lot of other things I couldn’t understand, and my favorite- Alaska.

Almost 9 hours of driving. It’s been a long time since we’ve done a long drive like this, seems like we've been in Texas for ages… and it got us where? West Memphis, Arkansas… somewhere familiar at least!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb