About those Camino Links I mentioned Earlier (29 days)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Benton
August 25th 2014
Published: August 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

In 2012 my knowledge of the Camino was solely based on on the movie "The Way". The movie is great but the information one needs to really get their act together for the Camino cannot to be found there . The internet and a couple books have really helped me fill in the blanks about the "how to's " and sources that needs to be shouted out that have been helpful and entertaining

For online social interaction and knowledge gathering there is NOTHING like Ivar Rekve's Camino forum . Free membership with access to folks who have been walking this Pilgrimage over the years and novices that are planning this trip . Here you will find everything you will need to do and not do for your trip . Soup to nuts . Also good for meeting people that will be heading out the same time as you . I started a thread on this forum for "September 2014 Peregrinos" and have had the fortune to meet several people that I will eventually see on the "Way"

To find your Way (literally) I purchased the " A Pilgrims Guide to the Camino de Santiago" by John Brierley. It's copyright is 2005 so not quite up to-date but I hear from past pilgrims that its good in getting you to were your going . Contains Trail Maps , local resources , lodging and some history about the different villages you pass through. I will let you know how I like it when I get to use it in real time .

There are a couple folks that I need to brag on regarding my learning and training for this adventure.

1 My neighbors and good friends Tami & Richie Thomas who have been supportive since the beginning. Tami is a Yoga teacher and taught me how really out of shape I was and helped me fix that by teaching me how to turn myself into a pretzel ,they both have walked with me often to help me along . Very encouraging , I feel lucky having them as good friends.

2) Cooper! .. I read a great book about this guy Steve Cooper who's trekked across Western Europe( including the Camino)called "Six Months Walking the Wilds : (of Western Europe): The Long Way to Santiago. ". I then learned he lived in NW Arkansas and a Professor at the local community college (small world?) . I sent him an email which he kindly responded too and we were able to meet over coffee and crepes, He told us ALOT about the Camino and trekking , What a very accomplished and extremely interesting guy . Highly recommend his book , even if your not a trekker .

3) Kathleen Sparks! . Co-worker of mine who has hiked the French portion of the Camino several times. I recently met Kathleen after she heard that Laurie & I were planning our trip and she offered up help in better understanding what the heck we were getting ourselves into. . After many discussions on the what ,where and how's of trekking , with pictures , equipment show & tells and a wonderful dinner party (cooked by her very talented husband ) attended by a couple other friendly and extremely interesting and knowledgeable Camino-ists , I felt we were pretty much tucked in for our trip. What a wonderful person Kathleen is ! I am SO happy we connected.

4) Brett Payne! . an avid trekker ,I came across Brett via my Genealogy website Deadfred.com ,Brett is a genealogist in New Zealand and has website a Photo Sleuth . He walked the Camino last year and has been giving me pointers and insights that are invaluable .

5 ) I can't leave out the most important person of all .. the lovely lady whose picture can not be shown , the one who is walking besides me always or behind me kicking my butt into shape ,my loving wife Laurie , 😊

Advertisement



26th August 2014

I'm just in the research mode, hoping to walk the Way in a couple of years...
I'm almost 65 so also have to spend the summer or more before to get into better shape. As for research, doing a Camino search on Youtube yields some great results. Search for "MangerontheHill" who has a series of 36 videos for each day on the road with lots of good advice. He burned his Brierley guide at Finesterre because it provided such bad directions and advice...although everyone seems to use that guide. Another series by "Lindsey Cowie" also provides great advice. And the documentary "Camino de Santiago Documentary: A Journey of the Mind (2012)" by Drew Robinson is excellent. And of course there are various Travelblogs about the Camino experience. I will be Following you on Travelblog, so am looking forward to your entries.
26th August 2014

Research Mode
Bob..what a wonderful lifestyle,! Thanks for telling me about those videos .. absoluetly will check them out
26th August 2014

Thanks, and Buen Camino!
I appreciate the kind words about my book, Joe. I'm looking forward to reading about your mountaintops and the holes you fall into. (Sometimes they're more interesting than the views from the top.) Cooper
26th August 2014

Holes!? :(
My body can only take a couple of those holes Cooper! .. I'll keep you appraised of my view once I'm in one :)

Tot: 0.39s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb