Checking out the Neighborhood


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
December 5th 2009
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 33.2112, -111.875

Every place we visit has it's unique look--some more unique than others, but here's what I love about our neighborhood.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Shadows on BougainvilleShadows on Bougainville
Shadows on Bougainville

It's red, it slouches over adobe walls everywhere and it grows in this desert like a weed.
I Call this Chenille CactusI Call this Chenille Cactus
I Call this Chenille Cactus

Fitting, don't you think?
Desert ImprintDesert Imprint
Desert Imprint

As these grow, they are squeezed so tightyly by engulfing leaves, that the edges of the leaves inside imprints on the outter leaves, leaving this leaf-edge pattern.
Trunk ArtTrunk Art
Trunk Art

Palm leaves drop off the tree as they age, leaving these stubs that later harden like wood.
Whacked Out Mexican Fencepost Whacked Out Mexican Fencepost
Whacked Out Mexican Fencepost

Cross section of cactus displays star shape when cut back.


13th December 2009

Yeah,...I would say you've got your groove back with that camera. Those pictures kill me. Especially since it looks so warm there & we're dropping down to below zero temps again tomorrow.Enjoying your new toy,~K
13th December 2009

Thanks. It's starting to come back to me, but I still get so frustrated that I'm so SLOW at getting the dials right, etc. I could never be a wildlife photographer--at least cacti stand there and wait for you.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb