Camper time


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Williams
October 8th 2012
Published: October 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

campfire ravecampfire ravecampfire rave

me crazy offspring
Last weekend, our neighbors had a visitor from New Zealand, so they wanted to take him on a camping trip up north. Since I'm hiking the Grand Canyon this weekend (oh how I can't wait to share the pics with you guys), we opted out of touring the Grand Canyon with them. Instead, Joe, Kaylene and I took a hike on Sycamore Falls trail in Williams. The state of Arizona never ceases to amaze me. Williams is near Flagstaff and only a two-hour drive from where I live, but it's a whole other world. It's cold at night and green and, well, awesomely beautiful. If I decided to stay in Arizona (after I do my international teaching stint), it will have to be somewhere up north. I love the desert too, but the heat is wearing me out. Plus, I want to be near water, and I miss having four seasons. Don't get me wrong we do have seasons in Phoenix too --- but it's the air and temps that change (only here do we get excited when it's a gray day, and we put on sweators when it's below 80 degrees). I want fall, snow and the soft green of spring --- call me greedy.

Okay enough of my words. Here are some pics. Next week --- if I survive the climb up --- I'll post the Grand Canyon hike pics. If you're bored and curious use attached link to learn more about where I'm so lucky to be going.

http://www.havasupaitribe.com/index.html


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

random repellerrandom repeller
random repeller

Kaylene kicks a rope we see tied to the tree. A few minutes later we see a head pop up over the canyon. um, never, ever kick a rope tied to a tree --- people do crazy shit like scale down cliffs with them
she's still so smallshe's still so small
she's still so small

in the overall scope of things.
tarantula!tarantula!
tarantula!

this is the first time I've ever run into one of these on an Arizona hike. I've seen rattlers, gilla monsters, all sorts of birds and lizzards but never a big spider before. The next thing for me to see is an actual scropion.
fall colorsfall colors
fall colors

and this is as close to Fall as I will come this year. I could drive to Flagstaff and see the birch trees turn yellow, which is cool but I miss the reds and oranges and all that good stuff
Irish Coffee Irish Coffee
Irish Coffee

yum, yum ... best campfire drink ever
cutest puppy evercutest puppy ever
cutest puppy ever

Mickey's new pup. she's so freakin adorable


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb