Grand Junction Co to Williams AZ


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Williams
September 23rd 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been a few days since I have given an update. What a few days, I have been to three amazing National Parks. Monday I went to Arches and Canyonlands in Utah. These were two amazing parks to see. I had not planned to visit Canyonlands but a hiker I had talked to in Glacier recommended it and it was worth the time spent in there. I also spent a little time in the outdoor activity hub of Moab UT. The colors of the rocks in the parks are amazing. Also had the chance to stop at Newspaper Rock on the way into Canyonlands.. There are drawings on this rock from well over 700 years ago!!
I drove to Cortez CO and spent the night there to make into Mesa Verde the next day. Mesa Verde is amazing. I had the opportunity to visit three of the cliff dwellings in the park. It was awesome to see these dwellings that were built over 500 years before our nation was started. The speculation is that the dwellings were built around 1200 AD. The climb down into and out of the dwellings was an adventure also. The Balcony House has a 32 foot long ladder you must climb to get into the dwelling.
I am in Williams AZ for the night. I hopefully go to the Grand Canyon Wednesday and then begin the 2,000 mile journey back to Statesville.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.415s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb