Lead King Loop 25k


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Grand Junction
September 21st 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

What a day!!!! I am trying to do an organized event in all 50 states. While on this trip, I had knocked out two more states and CO was on the agenda for today. 25k should be about 15.5 miles. It WAS NOT 15 probably a bit closer to 17. The run started in Marble at an elevation of 7,950 feet. I didn't really know that going into the run. The run gained 2,900 feet in almost 6 miles. It started to drizzle some at mile 4. It really started to rain at mile 7.5 and it was probably in the mid 40's for the entire race. It was a tough race and I'm feeling it in my feet and legs. The scenery of the race was impressive!! The Aspen trees are turning colors. Most of the trees were golden yellow. There are some huge peaks in CO and one near the course still had a lot of snow left on it.
The drive along interstate 70 in CO was very impressive. It was neat to see the scenery change from forests to more desert as I get closer to Ut. I drove a couple of hours to Grand Junction CO. I will spend the night here and head to Moab UT and Arches National Park tomorrow. Then to Mesa Verde for the cliff dwelling, and then the Grand Canyon. Then I-40 back to Statesville.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb