Sedona Trip, Day 2, Soldier's Pass


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Sedona
April 19th 2012
Published: September 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

PHOTOS FROM THIS DAY AT SOLDIER'S PASS

Our hotel was between Airport Road and Soldiers Pass so we didn't have to get up too early for our early trip to the Seven Sacred Pools on the Soldiers Pass Trail. All that we read about it said there was a small parking lot that filled quickly so we were there a little after seven. You guessed it. It opened at 8! We drove around the affluent neighborhood, waving to the same gardener 3 or 4 times, until the automatic gate opened. We were the only car there.

As we started down the path we saw a kid come running toward us. "Just made it up there and back in 45 minutes!" I ostensibly congratulated him for the feat, but it was more for getting up so much earlier than the other residents of this wonderful place.

The first photo is of a tree right near the beginning of the trail that must have been touched by nearly every traveler on the trail. You almost have to hold the tree as you swing past it, and as a consequence the bark is rubbed clear off. At least that's the way it seemed to me. The Reader should always keep in mind that I rarely know what I'm talking about when it comes to naming things and knowing their characteristics. I'd rather attend the actual feelings I get, and imagine the history of the rocks and trees I meet. Strange I know, but you should know the truth. This tree seemed like a fine greeter.

The above-mentioned Sphinx is in the second photo, which is certainly not a very good one. We were on the dark side of the formation so I drastically increased the exposure on the rock to show some of the detail. I was amazed at how early the light becomes midday harsh in Sedona. Most of this gallery is posted merely to show our morning hike. In fact, the only shot I like, except for a couple Barb is in, is number 5.

The Seven Sacred Pools, so named by a jeep driver trying to drum business so I've heard, seemed a poor western example of the Seven Tubs Natural Area not far from home. I've seen many fine photos from this spot but this morning was not the best time. Perhaps earlier would have worked. We planned on returning here for an evening shot, but spontaneity trumped the intent. In photos 20 & 21 you can see Barb posting a photo of me on Facebook --one she just took with her phone.

The walk was wonderful and we met many happy people enjoying the feel of place. Although the photos were poor, I was not in the least deterred, knowing that the evening that followed was to be spent with Larry Lindahl.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb