Red Rocks and Blue Skies


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Sedona
January 25th 2012
Published: March 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My parents and I took a short trip to Sedona and Flagstaff for a few days. It was nice to get out of the house and into some warmer weather. (Well, Sedona was warmer; Flagstaff was not.) I hadn't been to Sedona and Flagstaff in years and was quite excited to visit them again.

Our first day we took in the bright blue skies and red rocks and then drove up to the airport. The Sedona airport is on top of a mountain and has views that go on for miles. Watching the sunset is like watching a kaleidoscope, as the colors and shapes on the rocks change every minute. The sunset this trip wasn't as spectacular as ones I've seen in the past, but it was still wonderful to take in. A bit cold, but worth it.

The next day, after a filling breakfast, we set out to take in more scenery. I should really say my dad drove us around and he and my mom relaxed near the car while I went off exploring the trails. There are so many trails to try, and each forks into another. Most of the time it felt like it was just me, the rocks, the blue sky, and a few birds, alone in the world. After living in China for four years, this was quite an experience! The contrast in color between the red rocks and the blue sky never fails to amaze me. In some areas, while the colors aren't so vivid, the wide open spaces make my imagination come alive, wondering about all the history the land and rocks have seen.

Our last day we took the long way home through Flagstaff, stopping for lunch at a favorite spot of ours. I had requested a sidetrip to Flagstaff so I could see snow again. I wasn't sure I would see it in Prescott, and since I'd lived with it for thirty years, but hadn't seen it for the past 3 winters, I wanted to gaze again. There wasn't as much snow to look at as I would have liked, but since I felt colder than I thought I would, maybe that's a good thing. I'm completely convinced that while snow is pretty, I like it better when it's not under my feet.

All in all, it was a nice three day trip, a chance to reconnect with nature, and a high point of my visit to Arizona.


Additional photos below
Photos: 62, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



15th March 2012

What lovely photographs of the Sedona area - thanks for sharing!
16th March 2012

Beautiful
I drove through Flagstaff and the Sedona area when I moved from IL to CA after graduating college. The colors are just amazing and I don't think I would ever get sick of looking at them.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb