My Team & Good-Bye


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
December 28th 2005
Published: December 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

India Team in Indian RestaurantIndia Team in Indian RestaurantIndia Team in Indian Restaurant

Ryan, Debbie (our alternate team leader), Deb, Jody, Mike and Mags
Hi Everyone:
I can't believe that I'm leaving tomorrow afternoon! Oh my god...it is actually here. I'm finishing up client projects today and trying to fit in packing somewhere...if you hear about an American arrested for running around naked at the Taj Mahal on New Year's Day...that will be me because I didn't have time to get my suitcase packed! 😉

A couple of you have asked about who I am going to India with, so my final entry before I leave the country will be to give you a sense of that--that way you'll know who I'm talking about when I mention them in blog entries while I'm away.

As most of you know, I'm going on a Rotary Foundation Group Study Exchange. For 20 years now, Rotary has been sending teams of 5 people to countries all over the world to promote international understanding and friendship. There are 5 people on our team and we are essentially traveling to India as ambassadors, promoting understanding and goodwill. That means that we get to meet and be with interesting people, try new food and new sights, learn new customs and be immersed in the Indian culture and country. We'll also be speaking almost every night...and one night we're speaking at a conference of 3,000 people!

My team is fabulous! They are fun, diverse and bright people and we really have a great time when we're together--and tend to drink too much wine and beer which should make for interesting travels! I've included a photo of all of us at an Indian restaurant recently, so you can see all of us. (Our alternate team leader, Debbie Beebe is also in the photo).

Our team leader is Mike Guida. Mike is 53, from New Jersey and owns a successful 20-year real estate practice with his wife Shari. He has a son (26) and two daughters (21 & 18). One of Mike's daughters, Lauren, is housesitting for me while I'm away...yay! Mike is a former Rotary Club president and he is funny, charming and has such a huge heart. All he wants is for everyone to be happy, which is great, but we keep telling him that everyone won't be happy all the time for five and a half weeks...we'll see how Mike survives that (along with traveling with three women for such a long time)!

Our other team members are: Maggie (Mags) Cashdollar, Debra (Deb) Jewett and Ryan Winfield. Mags is a 27-year-old 8th grade literature teacher at Osborn middle school...and she is one cool teacher. Her students call her "Cash," she coaches volleyball, basketball and softball and is actively involved in developing the best strategies for teaching English, as many of her students are native-born Spanish speakers.

Deb works as a team assistant in a twelve bed inpatient unit for Hospice of the Valley. She is a 32-year-old former professional dancer--you should see her legs!--and is working to become a humanistic therapist. And Ryan is a Sex Crimes detective for the Glendale Police Department, along with being an instructor in the Law Enforcement Response to Weapons of Mass Destruction. We all feel safter having Ryan around for sure. Oh, and he is a drummer in the Glendale Police Department Honor Guard Pipes and Drum Band...so he actually knows whether men wear anything under their kilts, but he hasn't been willing to say yet...maybe one night after one too many Indian beers we'll get that info!

That's everyone...well, outside of me, of course. We're all excited and nervous too...and expect to be like a family--on each other's nerves and loving each other just the same! My flight leaves tomorrow night at 7:30 pm. We have a 9 hour flight to London, a 7 hour layover and then a 10 hour flight to Delhi, India. I've never traveled nearly that long before (Europe is so much shorter), so I'll let you know how I come out the other side. The next time you will hear from me is from India. Happy New Year and much love, everyone!



Advertisement



28th December 2005

Safe Travels
I hope you have a wonderful and safe trip. I'll be thinking of you . . . Love, Noel
28th December 2005

The excitement is killing me!
Jody, I hope you have a very safe trip. I don't think India will be quite the same after your visit. Dan
29th December 2005

I'll Be With You
Jody, once again you amaze me. With less than 24 hours you manage to be an ambassador for the team and Rotary! I will miss all of you but will be with you in spirit...don't forget to buy me an outfit!!
29th December 2005

WOW!
Have a wonderful time, Jody! Hope the journey is one filled with richness, excitement and solitude. Enjoy. Can't wait to hear more!
29th December 2005

Thank you for giving our club your blog address. We will be sure to follow you on your journey. The Peoria Rotary Club wishes you and the team the best in safety, adventure and opportunities. Opportunities for what, you may ask? That's part of the adventure!
29th December 2005

We are so proud!
We are honored to sponsor you on this cultural exchange trip to India. We are also very proud of you and the rest of the GSE team and we are glad you will be representing all of us. Good Luck, Jody. GOD Bless you and your fellow teammates.
29th December 2005

What date and time are you going to be in Agra?

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb