Preparing to Leave


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
December 20th 2005
Published: December 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!
I 'm just about a week out from my five week trip to India. I leave one week from Thursday...I can hardly believe it! Seemed like it was high time to get this set-up and ready to go. I'm going to be writing about my experiences in India as much as possible. For those of you who don't know, I will be staying in people's homes in India, so every few days I will be with a new family in a new home. Thus, given that we'll be traveling around seeing new things, meeting new people and staying new places often, I don't know how much internet access I will have. But I will write as often as I can.

Here's my promise: When I write, I will write what I'm experiencing honestly...in other words, I'll be straight and revealing. I know my automatic impulse will be to write what is impressive or looks cultured. While I'm sure I'll be sharing stuff like that 😉 ...I will also share with you what shocks me, what is difficult for me, my judgements and embarrassments. You can count on me for that...and it is good for me to be that revealing!

Most of you know that this trip is a Rotary Foundation Group Study Exchange. I am going with four other people...really wonderful, bright and fun folks with diverse lives and professions. It is going to be quite a trip! We are leaving on December 29th. Rotary is doing a small send-off ceremony at the airport on the 29th. You are most definitely welcome at 6:00 pm at the British Airways checkpoint, British Airways, Terminal 4. There will be hugs, photos, presentations, goodbyes and such. Please come if you would like...the more the merrier!

I'm excited about sharing my trip with you! And I really look forward to your comments and notes through the blog while I'm away. I'm likely to be quite homesick after a few weeks, so any communication from you will be exciting for me...just please don't describe your long hot baths (I love them and they are non-existent in India) and we'll all be just fine! Happy holidays everyone!

Advertisement



20th December 2005

Bon Voyage!
Jody, I'm so excited for your adventure and am looking forward to vicariously experiencing your travels! Happy Holidays to you, too. love, Marci
20th December 2005

Best Wishes
Jody -- your sense of adventure is absolutely amazing! As one who has traveled with you before, I know that your companions and the folks you encounter along the way will be fortunate and blessed by your presence. I look forward to reading your blog entries. Bon Voyage! Jeff
20th December 2005

Best of Luck
Jody - best of luck on this great opportunity. I will be thinking of you and looking forward to all your honest feedback on how this goes - Have fun! Shelly
20th December 2005

Travel Safely
Jody, what a truly wonderful opportunity! I look forward to hearing EVERYTHING. Stay safe. Marty
20th December 2005

See you at the airport
Hey Jody, Your first travel blog is fantastic...I knew it would be just knowing you and your talents! I'll see you at the airport on the 29th. I still wish I was going with all of you. Debbie B.
20th December 2005

Try Again
OK Jody, This time I hit the subscribe button...so hopefully you will get this comment. Your entry is great and I am looking forward to keeping up with the adventures of the team through you and Mags. Have fun and enjoy the experience. I am sure it will change your life!
20th December 2005

What a great idea.
Jody, This is a great idea. I look forward to every word. I know you will convey it in a manner that places us (the readers) on your shoulder. Enjoy. Karie
21st December 2005

Does India know what it is in for?
Jody, the excitement is killing me. I've heard about this trip for months and I find it hard to believe it is finally here. I look forward to tracking your transformation and that of others who come in contact with you along the way. Good Luck, Dan.
22nd December 2005

I'll see you at the airport!
22nd December 2005

Have a great time!
I wish I could send you off with hugs but you will have to settle for email and well wishes! I'm very excited for you! I cannot wait to read all about your trip!
22nd December 2005

Enjoy your adventure!
Jody, It was a pleasure meeting you at the Village Planning Meeting. Hope you have a safe, fascinating journey. I am sure you will experience much happiness, excitement and saddness as you discover the real India. I look forward to reading your blogs.
22nd December 2005

Merry Christmas
Have a great trip. I am wishing you all the best. Don't forget to take some flushable wipes.
23rd December 2005

Best of luck!!!
Jody, Best of luck to you.
23rd December 2005

YaY Jody!
I can't WAIT to read about your adventures - thank you SO SO much for inviting me into your travel world - I wish you'd done so a long time ago! Have a great time - I know you will!
27th December 2005

2 days away!
It is almost time to go to the airport. I am sending much love and good mojo vibes your way.
28th December 2005

Bon Voyage!
Travel safe, stay warm and keep in touch! We are so excited to hear about your adventure!
28th December 2005

...and away she goes!!!
Jody, May your travels bring you gifts beyond imagination. I'll be checking your blog regularly and am looking forward to learning evry aspect of your experiences while in India. Blessings be with you. Stay safe and healthy and return with much wisdom! I appreciate you! Deenie
28th December 2005

Best Wishes
Jody, it sounds like an amazing trip and you will be a wonderful ambassador. Be safe and do what my brother does when he travels to exotic countries - smile, eat what is placed in front of you and don't ask what it is :) Take care.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb