Grand Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Grand Canyon
July 19th 2008
Published: April 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woke up and had the included breaky. Pretty average. Not much options. Just grabbed a croissant. After that it was on the bus to go to the helicopters for those who chose to do that optional which was almost everyone. We all got weighed and watched a safety video.

The choppers were all delayed due to high winds and were almost canceled which would have sucked big time. The delays ended up not being too long. I got to ride shot gun with the pilot. Awesome. It was so good. I thought it might be kinda scary, me hating heights and all but it was just amazing. Blows you away. The weather was overcast and misty but still got some good photos. Its so cool flying into the canyon. You start flying over trees etc and then everything just suddenly disappears into canyon and it blows you away. Amazing. After that Cat and I went back to the cabin and fell to sleep to bout 3 or 4 pm. Cat and I decided to walk some of the canyon but ran into people from tour going to the bar for a drink so Ca joined them but hey I can drink anywhere anytime. In the grand canyon only once, so I set off on my own and very glad I did.

I walked some of the rim trail. The weather remained a bit bla and overcast so photos and canyon didn't look so great. I looked though the gift shops again. When I was heading back the sun came out and the canyon looked really good so I decided to hike some of the Angel head trail. Its a minimum 3 hr trail, up to 8 hours depending on how far you go. I just walked about half and hour - 45 mins down then went back up. Heaps of signs going down tell you it takes double the time to come back up etc so i thought id better but it didn't take that long. Saw some mules, got some good photos, Look really good in the canyon. I wish I'd had longer. Coming back up didn't take long and it would have been good to go down further but still happy that I did what I did and not just drink.

After I got back up had a shower, dinner and met the others drinking. We stayed till the bar closed (which wasn't late) having a few drinks, playing pool and ice hockey, then off to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb