How GRAND is GRAND? !!!


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We've done it - the Grand Canyon.

We travelled from Sedona to Flagstaff -where we stopped at a Downtown Diner for pancakes and french toast and blueberries with half a gallon of maple syrup- we then took the Old Fort Valley Road, avoiding a busy highway....a great route with beautiful pine forests and snow toped mountain views. When we stopped at Valle we filled up the gas ( see I am talking american already)and got our Grand Canyon Park pass and so at the entry gate to the park we could sail on through pretty quick. I did book our campsite ages ago ( just as well as they are all full) and so we got straight into it ...parked up and in no time armed with shuttle bus maps we got going for the South Rim and our first view of the Canyon.

And yes - nothing prepares you for that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There it was as far as the eye could see - not just a canyon but canyons, gullies, mesas and gorges stretching out in front of me and so deep deep deep... rock strata of varying colours and types ....I could not believe I was here at last with the girls - we had planned this back in 2008 in Canada. I was so overwhelmed I started to cry - it was so emotional to see it... a reaction I had not expected at all. Well Tracie went off to get hot chocolate for me , a hug from Suz and I pulled myself together.

Grand is not quite the superlative to use, I couldn't put into words what it is like to be there and experience it - and we only saw a fraction along the South Rim- we had to have a way of thinking about the vastness of it - the length is a distance about from home in Eastbourne to Newcastle - and about 20 miles wide in places.

The whole system they have there - the parking, the Village store etc and paths for walks along the South Rim is brilliant - with shuttle bus routes to take you and drop you off to hike as much or as little as you want - and all free. So we basically explored all of the west end of the South Rim shuttle loop on Day 1 - hopping off at various points and walking along the trails....weatherwise it was sunny but quite cool to start with and gradually the storm built up with more and more clouds amassing - with some dramatic skies. Finally just as we were getting on our last shuttle the thunder and lightning came, heavy sleety rain and hailstones. Oh b****r - we had bought wood for our campfire and it didnt look like we would be able to light a fire that night. So it was back to the home comforts of Billybob - chicken n salad and baked sweet potatoes - we eat proper when we are camping!! The fire pit was filled with hail and snow much to Tracie's disgust - so no campfire - and we were so tired out it was bed pretty early. We seem to be up with the larks every day ( well daylight) and when we found out that the shuttlles start running at 4.30 am we were up had our bacon butties and on the South Rim walking, not that early but about 8 am. It was a lovely sunny morning - and this time we were on the East Side of the shuttle routes with more fantastic views and able to see down to the Colorado river.

Spring is here - trees in leaf and I kept spotting wildflowers. Wonderful to see how botanical life clings to the edge literally here. Whereas Suz and I are rather conservative about being on the "edge" here - Tracie ( always has been an adventurous little soul since she was a babe!!) had to do a few daredevil stunts. However before Christine, her mum, has a fit seeing these fotos of her on the edge I have to say it was not as dangerous as it looks- there were ledges under what looks like a sheer drop. (Does look scarey though).

I thought we packed in quite a lot in the short time we were there - out and about on the Rim most of the time and now its done and I can truly say - it was one of the most wonderful experiences in my life and I am so privileged to have been able to get here and see this amazing place.

And so we drove off in Billybob along the South Scenic Rim Road and headed to our next stop Monument Valley - so that's a blpg for tomorrow.

Love to all.

P.S. I am trying out my photo edting skills - so hope you like the photos...can you spot the stormy sky view with the rainbow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



11th May 2013

Fabulous
Thank you Lynne for taking us to this fabulous place.
11th May 2013

Massively Grand
Wow,fantastic, awesome, unbelievable,stunning, breath taking and that's just to describe the photos. just being there must be seem out of this world? It is so humbling to see the effects of glaciers, volcanoes, rivers and all other types of weather that created this little planet we call home! It looks s fabulous and yes such a taster we would both love to do it
11th May 2013

how grand is grand?????
wow, wow, and more wow. it's amazing! Love to you all. xxx
11th May 2013

I cried also
Each time I see the canyon it takes my breath away. I was fortunate enough to take a helicopter ride over it. They were playing America the Beautiful on the headset and I had tears streaming from my eyes. It is nothing less than amazing. No matter how someone describes it to you, you won't understand the magnificence until you stand on the edge. America is very diverse, and surprisingly beautiful.
11th May 2013

More wow than New Zealand!!
Hi Lynne We are back from Queensland and I am catching up on all your blogs. What amazing landscapes!!! I can never get over how bold you are driving around these places, sometimes even on your own. And in USA without a gun.(Sorry, I couldn't resist that!) Be super careful. Love Jocelyn & Mac xx
13th May 2013

Wow! Wow! Wow!
I really can't say much more - want to go there myself now!! xx

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb