Tombstone Again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Benson
March 15th 2020
Published: March 20th 2020
Edit Blog Post

03-15-20 Tombstone again

It was a little cloudy this morning so it didn't get as cold last night but I was prepared. We did our morning routine quickly because I wanted to get back to Tombstone in the morning before it got too hot for Watson in the camper, he was staying home!

I left about 9:30 and was the first person in line for a stage coach ticket. I wanted to hear all about the town while it passed by. We had a real cute driver and after a few lame jokes we headed out down the street in a cloud of dust. It seems the town burned down twice but only the second floors. The base was made of adobe and that didn't burn.

Lots of pictures, they will tell the story.

I got a hat band for my straw hat that I bought in Mexico last year and a T shirt , which I swore I wouldn't, but a very pretty one. I stopped at Big Nose Betty's Saloon for lunch sitting at the bar so I had room around me. Again pictures. Lunch was terrific and the entertainment was an old guy singing the old western songs and being rowdy all the while. It was delightful...

I headed back home and grabbed Watson for a walk and when we got back there was another male stranger asking me if I wanted to go for a ride in his golf cart. I guess they are the new "sin bins" for the senior set. I had signed up for a tour of the property and Clive was here to give me that tour.

So off we went, up hill and down, in all the nooks and carnies of the property. Each lot is big enough for a big rv and a small "casita" which is basically a 148 square foot building. Some have plumbing and electric, some very basic but they are all unique. Some have porches, some have roof top decks, some look like a box and some are quite elaborate. Pictures

The tour took 1 1/2 hrs and I was a little guilty leaving Watson all day but he seemed fine and our evening was very peaceful.

I did go out and look at the stars and despite some street lights they were brilliant. I have to find a place sometime on this trip to take pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb