Day 17: Oh No, Not This Again?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
May 11th 2017
Published: May 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

IMG_6064IMG_6064IMG_6064

Alaskan Range
Got up, did the usual stuff and set off to Denali. Q drove, although I "mentioned" at least 3 times that I could drive... I wonder why he didn't let me...
Took a picture of the Alaska Range as we headed out of Tok. Well, this was another action-packed day: I couldn't even read the Mile Post book because apparently the writers didn't know how to get us from Tok to Delta Junction to Denali. For some unknown reason they jumped from pages in the 200s to 400s. I gave up! Even the maps were screwed up?, and since Q ( who spent months planning this trip and almost memorizing This Bible) said it was too hard to follow, I felt vindicated in refusing to look at it again.
So on we went, and what a drag. There wasn't even a gas station--just pure nothingness.
As we finally got towards Denali, we started to see something: you guessed it: mountains. Believe me, seeing them is no longer a many splendoured thing for me.
Q wanted me to take a bunch of pictures with his camera (I told him they would have been better if he took them and I drove..(.my bad...)I
IMG_6082IMG_6082IMG_6082

Denali
took just 2 for me ---that sufficed.
In Denali, we met up with Ray and Sandy German again. Happy hour was at our RV and then we all went to dinner and now I'm
blogging. I'm sure you got bored reading this---now just think about how I felt experiencing it!!!!
Tomorrow should be interesting (I hope). We'll be on a 5 hour tour through Denali National Park. Maybe I'll finally get to see some animals. I don't know about Denali (aka Mt. McKinley) because I found out today that it's 90 miles from here. I don't know how big the Park is---I'll find out on the tour--you see, I love surprises!
Just to let you know: I kind of understand why that woman on Facebook chastised Yellowstone Park for not having the animals out when she was there. I think that just maybe Canada hid the Caribou from me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

IMG_6084IMG_6084
IMG_6084

Denali


Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb