Alaska = Summer 2013


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
September 1st 2013
Published: May 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

me, Tammy, Coburn! me, Tammy, Coburn! me, Tammy, Coburn!

Laugton Glacier hike
In search of a cool climate for summer vacation, I googled "yoga retreat in Alaska" and then everything just fell into place and I explored Southeastern Alaska for 3 weeks. Two amazing friends of mine from DC joined me for the middle week of the 3 weeks!

I flew in and out of Juneau and did a few touristy exploring things there on the front and back ends of the trip. I hiked up the Mount Robert trail which you can walk to from Juneau. It was really, really steep and I wished I had my trekking poles! I also went to Mendenhall Glacier which was amazing!

I headed to Haines by ferry and spent 10 days in this sleepy fishing village. A week of it was spent doing yoga with "Sarana yoga". Tammy and Coburn met me a few days into the yoga week and we staying together at the River House which looked out on the Chilkat River. Every day our yoga retreat included 3 bountiful, homemade, fresh, local, vegetarian meals made by a CHEF! Each morning we meditated in a small yurt by the river. We could hear the waves lapping as we sat in silence. We also learned some mantras and chants which were so pretty, especially with the harmonium. We had a morning yoga class, then went on a midday adventure often with a bag lunch, then had late afternoon yoga. Our midday adventures included exploring: Battery Point, Chilkat State Park, Moose Meadows where we could see Davidson and Rainbow Glaciers across the river, Mud Bay walk in low tide! Our biggest hike was up Mt. Riley. Our most memorable meal was a whole community cookout on the beach with fresh salmon and king crab legs!

Tammy, Coburn and I stayed another couple days in Haines after the yoga week. We went on a half day guided kayaking adventure and Tammy got some awesome pictures! We also explored the town, had a nice meal, and went on another small hike.

We took the state ferry from Haines the short ride to Skagway. Another friend of ours, Kendall, moved to Skagway a few years ago, fell in love with Skagway and with a man, got married and now lives in this incredible community. She welcomed us with open arms into her friend circle and life. Tammy, Coburn, and I stayed at a hostel/b&b
Tammy took this picture!Tammy took this picture!Tammy took this picture!

Coburn in back and me in front in kayak
with full kitchen access and a nice living room and outdoor space called the Sojourn Hostel.

The most memorable day we had in Skagway was the gold rush trainride up the mountainside to then do a guided hike up Laughton Glacier. Kendall hooked us up with friends of her's that ran the trip. Being on a glacier was truly incredible!

Other adventures in Skagway included: walking to Smuggler's Cove, a small plane ride to see glaciers from above, and an epic solo hike to Upper Dewey Lake to Devil's Punchbowl. Finally, I took the Fjord Express with Whale Watching to get back to Juneau!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb