A Nice Quiet Weekend


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
August 5th 2008
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cottonwood CreekCottonwood CreekCottonwood Creek

On the trail at the Kenai Backcountry Lodge
This weekend I had the lovely opportunity of visiting the company's Kenai Backcountry Lodge. This lodge is located on Skilak lake and is only accessible by boat. It is nestled beautifully in the woods with a small lodge and some individual cabins for guests. The lodge is very eco-friendly as it uses hydro-power to run everything. Due to the nature of this lodge it is a great place to get away from everything and just enjoy the quiet and the beauty the nature has to offer.

When I first got there I went hiking on the Cottonwood Trail. This trail goes up and gives you a great view of Skilak lake...a gorgeous blue lake surrounded by mountains...very peaceful and serene. I went on the trail for about 4 hours and I saw numerous piles of bear poop and fortunately no bears. I then spent the night hanging out by the lake and enjoying the view. The following day, I was able to go on a kayaking adventure out on the lake. This was a lot of fun because it was a beautiful day...cloudy but at least no rain. I was able to see some wildlife on this little trip. There
Cottonwood TrailCottonwood TrailCottonwood Trail

Cool tree at the Kenai Backcountry Lodge
were many seagulls in one area that I kayaked past. Since there were a couple of infants the adults were very protective. I did get dive bombed a few times by them but they at least stayed about 4-5 feet away from me. I was more concerned about them pooping on me than anything, but I managed to stay clean. Then later on I was in a cove and there were a couple of loons hanging out, so I decided to hang out with them for a while. They were just swimming around and didn't really care that I was there. It was very enjoyable to watch. That was pretty much what I did there and then just some relaxing. It was a great place to go visit and I am happy I got the chance to go there before I leave for the summer.

When I returned to Cooper Landing I was able to go out with my office coworkers. We went to the local bar for some dinner and drinks. It was part of a sales challenge that we won. Someone from the year round office came to close our office so we could all go out. It was a great time since we were all able to hang out which doesn't happen often because one of us is always working in the office until 10.

Well, I have only about two more weeks left before I return home. This morning I woke up and it was cold and rainy. I am looking forward to some hot and humid weather when I return. It feels more like fall here than summer. Although we were lucky to get a few days of sunshine and warmth in the past week.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Office GirlsOffice Girls
Office Girls

In front of the office before our night out


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb