And finally Barry speaks...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Talkeetna
July 14th 2013
Published: July 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi All. Finally got around to guest blogging. I want to thank all those who emailed or called to wish me a good vacation. But…I wasn’t on VACATION…I was on a TRIP. You see, in my opinion, when one returns from a vacation, one is rested…relaxed…ready to resume the daily drudge with renewed energy. When one returns from a trip, one is ready for a vacation. Don’t get me wrong this was a great TRIP! Marr and Marcy plotted a wonderful route abound with activities and surprises and pleasant lodging. But they did not plan a vacation. According to Websters, a vacation is “a period spent away from home or business in travel for recreation ”. A trip is “to make a journey to be schlepped around from one place to another to another to another then eat then sleep then back to schlepping from one place to another to another to another then eat then sleep, etc.”. I was surprised by the precise, dead on definition offered by the wordsmith. Apparently, Mrs. Webster schlepped Mr. Webster around a lot. So we schlepped by van, by plane, by plane again, by green van, by ship, by boat, by ferry, by silver van, by black van (see Steve for the van stories), by school bus, by plane and finally by plane again. Within each of the previous sentence’s commas, we hiked, we rafted, we museumed, we hiked more, we climbed glaciers, we toured, we hiked more. By the way…to those who saw my picture on a glacier…thanx for the congratulations. Yes…I did lead a group of one (Ginz) through the mud and rain to climb on a glacier. But he stayed with and together we Thrilling. Gosh, I think we were up…oh…I’d guess…twenty…twenty-two feet. Many of you asked about my previous experience with glaciers and I will be honest with you: the closest experience I ever had to a glacier was emptying a tray of ice cubes. But that just goes to show what determination can accomplish on the first try. Marcy taught me that when we face the culinary challenge of choosing an appropriate restaurant for everyone, it’s easier to just say, “I’ll be fine.” Then give a waving hand gesture. It really works. Steve and I shared the driving of the miles and miles and miles of Alaska. Not at the same time. And it really isn’t his fault he broke the green van. But the biggest trouper in this entire trip was Mrs. Ginzburg. She not only braved the White Water rafting, hiked up many mountain trails without any help (she needed the help coming down), fiercely combatted hand to wing with armies of vicious mosquitos, became technically savvy in opening hotel doors with the key card under extreme duress and expertly maneuvered the middle folding van seat. But we are most proud of Mrs. Ginzberg most for stepping up under trying situations and dining in establishments rated below 5 stars. In fact many of the restaurants quizzically stared at her when she mentioned Zagats. So here’s to you Mrs. Ginsburg, Trip Advisor loves you more than you could know. By the way, I know Mrs. Ginszberg will not be angry with me about what I wrote because I’m her hero…I saved her life. Go ahead: ask her about it. Well, the trip is over and we come home tomorrow. And yes…I’m ready for a vacation.

Advertisement



16th July 2013

Barry
Kvetch, kvetch, kvetch, kvetch!
19th July 2013

Welcome Home
Sounds like you had a great trip. Speak to you soon, Robert

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb