Sitka and The Mighty Fisher Girl


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Sitka
September 12th 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fishing in SitkaFishing in SitkaFishing in Sitka

Two of the four men on the trip with me. That's right, I was the only girl!
Today was partly sunny with no rain and rather warm. Beautiful! We got to Sitka, AK on Baranof Island. Sitka is a small mostly fishing town. I think the local shop owners were a little dazed at the arrival of tourists. I ran into town to buy very expensive cigarettes from a machine at a smoky bar (the only place in town that sold cigarettes!), batteries for my camera and postcards. Pam, Mary and me also went to a small burger joint and had a great burger. We stopped back by later in the day for an espresso milkshake. MMM MMM!

After my quick jaunt into town I hooked up with my group to go salmon fishing. Thanks to my wonderful brother, Paul, I was able to enjoy 4 hours of trolling around in the bay looking for Silver Salmon. I found one. The biggest catch on the boat and a female with eggs at that! She probably weighed around 14 pounds (she was mature). I received the filleted frozen fish at home Tuesday. It’s beautiful! We will be enjoying that at Paul’s where he can cook it to perfection.

While fishing I saw a beautiful great blue heron.
Fishing in SitkaFishing in SitkaFishing in Sitka

The right hand rod is the one that I got the fish on.
I also saw a seal playing and chasing fish while I was on the boat waiting for them to release us on the town. And of course, bald eagles.

We left Sitka at 6:00 p.m. and headed to Petersburg, AK.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My Fish!My Fish!
My Fish!

Here she is!
A Rainbow in SitkaA Rainbow in Sitka
A Rainbow in Sitka

Too funny that it's over the dumpsters.


1st October 2006

Caviar
Did you have caviar as well? I can not believe how popular it is here in Russia. I have been told for those of you who want to try it or are thinking about it, black is much better than orange or red. Or if you have tried orange or red, you should really try black before you decide if you like it or not. Of course black is MUCH more expensive, but just thought I would share.
8th October 2006

SItka & Tourists
SItka actually has many tourists in the summer - so many in fact that you can barely drive your car down the street. Perhaps the shopkeepers were dazed for some other reason??

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb