and we're OFF


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Kenai
January 5th 2007
Published: January 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

We're on our way

too many hours in too small a space with too many people breathing the same recycled air.

Hello everyone!
This is Oliver and Dorien here, siblings extraordinaire. You have the fortune (or misfortune) of being added to our list of subscribers for our travel blog as we journey across the lands of Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam. This means that you will get occasional notifications for the next 3 1/2 months when we update our blog (usually with pictures and the like). And you can leave notes on our blogs, though feel free to e-mail us as well. I actually have very little idea how this works and what exactly you'll get sent, so if being on our list annoys you, please feel free to send us nasty messages and we'll take you off when we figure out how to do it.
We are flying into Anchorage tmrw night, followed by a 10 1/2 hour flight to Taiwan and a 3 1/2 hour flight to Bangkok. From there we are headed up to Northern Thailand. So today, we are in this beautiful world of snow and cold and darkness, and in 24 hours we are headed to the dank and sweaty lands of equatorial Asia.
For those of you who I (dorien) haven't talked to in awhile, I've been up in Alaska since June. I finished my summer job in October, and have been in town since then, spending time with family, drumming on the Heartbeat of Mother Earth drum, hiking/camping and taking a few crappy standardized tests that tell me whether or not I'm worthy enough to attend the exalted institution known as graduate school.
Oliver would like to say, 'i don't know, dorien, i don't care. Say something for me."
We'll keep this short, but we hope that our blog will provide information, entertainment, and diversion from whatever the powers that be think that you're supposed to be doing at 3 pm on a weekday.
-Dorien and Oliver (aka dirtyfeet and shlur)

Advertisement



5th January 2007

Bon Voyage!
Have fun and tally ho! May you have many wonderful thunderstorms and a dismal amount of sunshine.... Will miss ya Stinker feet...
5th January 2007

You know
That you two are the busted end of the family spectrum when it goes to looks? I mean, it starts with me, skips Eli, then hits Sarah, then finally trickles down to you two fools. (Eli was dropped. Allot. It helped his looks actually) Mom still loves me the most. Have fun, can't wait to see the scars.
5th January 2007

Hearty Halarity
Whether halarity is spelled right or not, Eric and I laughed heartily at your 1st entry in your blog. I'm still laughing. Dorien, truly you are a writer extraordinaire and we await your next words and adventures with baited breath....baited with what...? And Oli, you make me laugh to my soul and thank goodness Dorien agrees to speak for you. Godspeed (or Sciencespeed) be with you both and may the positive chirality of the universe be with you on your side of the planet. You are so very loved (and enjoyed) by all of us. xxoo Molly, Eric and Sean
5th January 2007

if hollywood has taught us anything
about being young and reckless in another country, it is this: say no to sex and drugs (and ax murderers) i leave you to digest this advice as you will.
5th January 2007

have fun. i'm jealous. i'll be reading you.
5th January 2007

Bonvoyagee
Safe and happy travels to you guys!
6th January 2007

Your the best
Hey guys, I just wanted to say thank you for visiting us. We really enjoyed the company and letting you too get to know the kids better. Thanks for all the help babysitting and emotional talks we have had. I hope you too have a wonderful trip and a safe one. We love you and will miss you more.
8th January 2007

Gypsy family
It's fun to know that you guys will be going to some of the same places I was at 7 yeas ago...although, alas, I only had 2 1/2 weeks in Thailand and didn't have the time to explore the surrounding areas. That 10 1/2 hour flight to Taiwan from Anchorage is a doozy, though! I am sure you guys will have amazing adventures! I must say I am a bit jealous..but maybe Willow and I will head off on a similar adventure some day. I look forward to hearing some stories.... Camille
11th January 2007

sweeeeet
yeepa! To elephants and small yellows

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb