fishing with my best friends and a bridal shower by the bay


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
May 14th 2009
Published: May 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What better way to spend a few days off from work than packing up a cooler, rolling down the windows, and spending the day in the sun with your best friends? For a fish fanatic like myself, those couple of days were heaven. The first one started off with just Mel and I...two very tired girls...heading out the road on our day off. And as we sat upon the rocks, losing a LOT of lures as we kept getting snagged, we were visited by a small sea otter, a lot of birds, and one curious sea lion. We ended up catching one tiny fish, a little cod that I sent back to the big blue after snapping a pic of him. And just as he touched the water, he disappeared into the kelp beds, probably thankful that he could finally breath again and was given the chance to grow some more. Before we knew it, we were back at the house and both of us passed out on our beds for almost 3 hours, a little more tired than we thought we were.

The second expedition was the morning after Vicki's bridal shower. Her shower was just awesome -- that's all I can say at the moment as I think back on the laughs, the good company, the beautiful Auke Rec bay and local porpoises, and the joy of just being outside for hours. Ah...what a fun night!!

The fishing expedition the next morning (Mother's Day) included Vicki and didn't really even start until the afternoon although it felt like the morning. With a few things on our minds and some intense conversations about the future, it was a good day to be outside and to sit on a rock as our minds ran a hundred miles a minute. Of course, I was in heaven again as we found our illustrious Point Vickari and I found a tide pool full of life. There were even two sculpin in the small pool of 6" inches of water. And as I tortured this small fish with some pictures, I couldn't help but think of how much sculpin have really changed my life. They have been almost as influential as the two girls I spent the day with! Okay...not quite as much. And while not everything was great that day and we were all worried about what was to come, it was nice to spend the day with such amazing women. And tidepooling of course is one of my favorite hobbies so it was just a nice sunny day in general. Too bad it was a Sunday and work shortly followed.

Anyways, there were lots of pictures, a video of a whale that visited us close to shore, and some good memories as I spent pretty much my last long day with Vicki. We even made a short stop at the Shrine and I took some pictures of the Mother Mary on Mother's Day. Life is really like Vicki has commented, "There's nothing as good as being outside with just a pole in your hand and the wind on your face."


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

hehehehe
hehe

Deb, Shannon, Mel, V, and Arielle


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb