summer is coming...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
April 24th 2009
Published: April 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is the last day of classes here at UAS in Juneau, Alaska. In a few hours, hundreds of dormant college students will flock to the courtyard for their free food as classes wrap up, stress week ends, and everyone braces themselves for the hectic weekend ahead as finals week approaches. It's crazy how fast this semester has gone by. It was just gone in a flash although perhaps it is because I have been kept so busy that it seems like it went by so fast. When you focus on one major test or project or really just one class every week, then shift gears at the beginning of the next and focus hardcore on another, I think you get so lost in focusing that time goes by much faster than you think.

Although it has passed too quickly, there have been so many wonderful things about this semester (and some not so wonderful): family sadness, friend drama, lost loves, new friends, laugh-attack moments, contemplative trips to the end of the road and a particular rock that I've grown very fond of, late-night conversations, endless debates about: Obama, advocating for gay marriage, and homo-erotic and gender queer behavior (haha, guess what class this is from -- Women & Gender's Studies), lots of biology jokes that only I giggle at forever, an early morning urchin expedition, proving my worth to a not-so-convinced biology professor that had her doubts about my future as a scientist, a week of sadness with the passing of a loved one which involved me pretty much locked up in my room willing the world away, acceptance for my hermit-behavior from very supportive friends, endless battles with financial aid, a rather awkward experience on a dance-floor of a particular bar, so many new experiences (aka a certain smirf "p" drink in a test tube), finding endless entertainment with an exercise ball, crazy standardized national tests that take over 4 hours to finish, lots and lots of sculpin talk as I advocate for my little fishy friends that I spend most of my week with, an acceptance letter from a foreign destination, a sweet and silent moment shared with a friend while you contemplate how much is going to change in the near future, and some amazing moments of pure happiness and companionship that I would not give up for the world. That's a semester in Juneau...a semester
Sea lion rookerySea lion rookerySea lion rookery

Whoa, wildlife on the wildlife cruise!!
at UAS...and a semester of my life. It has been a great one and is only going to get better as the summer approaches.

Summer is coming...I hope it is going to be a good one. It has been sunny in Juneau for the past two days and partially sunny for like the past week. It has been nice. And although today is cloudy, gray, and partially rainy, I'm still happy. I actually only have 3 more finals - all take-home or projects that I need to finish. Nothing too stressful. The big presentation (urchin one) is over and it filled me up with confidence. So instead of focusing on my finals like I should be on this last day of stress week, I am blogging. This blog is not so much about travel today, but perhaps a travel of the mind, the heart, the spirit -- whatever poets call it. It has been an enlightening semester and although there have been some ups and downs recently, it's definitely been pretty amazing and I'd love it so much. I even have some pictures to add to this endless rambling that are from our little adventures out the road which
Pretty view of the waterPretty view of the waterPretty view of the water

On water during the wildlife cruise!!
really feels like traveling to a new world. And there is much more to come as I spend my first summer here in Juneau...I move in to my first condo next week...I head North above the Arctic Circle as my best friend is marrying the love of her life...I head back to Portland, OR and the place where I was first inspired to become a marine biologist...and then the big one...my first trip outside of North America as I head to Norway. I only hope the summer doesn't pass by too quickly as I am excited to go join the Norwegians, but also a little more saddened than normal to be leaving my home and a little nervous...okay, WAY nervous. We'll see how it goes though!! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Another rookery photoAnother rookery photo
Another rookery photo

More wildlife cruise!!


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb