When the world is frozen over...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
February 15th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow...it has been months and my poor travelblog has been left hanging. It's true that while I have not been doing a lot of traveling lately (except a short stint to Idaho to visit the family for Christmas vacation) I have been thinking about traveling more than anything. With graduate school applications, summer roadtrip plans, and the prospect of maybe attending Iceland or Norway this fall if I get accepted for an international student exchange, I can honestly say that travel has never left my brain. And just because my home offers so many beautiful picture opportunities, I am posting yet again more pictures of Alaska because let's face it...I LOVE IT!

Alaska is a cold, windy, icy, and dark world right now, but that doesn't make it any less beautiful. And after a few weeks of ice, wind, and my roommates and I slipping on the ice about 6 or 7 times combined, we were blessed with about three days of gorgeous sunshine. So instead of doing homework, we took to the road and headed out to my favorite spot to see whales. When no whales appeared though, we headed back towards Juneau and did a little touring of the Shrine. There we saw some ducks, sea lions, whales, sea gulls, and stood in the sun with sunglasses on even though it was about 25 degrees outside. Gotta love Alaska.

So here are some pics of our eventful weekend of pictures and some pictures from a sledding expedition that ended in an awesome snow fight. ENJOY!!!!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Pretty!! Pretty!!
Pretty!!

At the Shrine


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb