My Home: Juneau, Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Juneau is located in Southeast Alaska, and the current population is approximately 30,711 people. Our economy is based on government, tourism, mining, and fishing. Also, the only way you're able to get here is by boat or plane. Basically, Juneau is an amazing place to live, and you can always find something fun to do as long as you don't let the rain stop you all the time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

KayakingKayaking
Kayaking

Gretchen, Jordon, and I kayaking on a gorgeous day. Gretchen is in the single Kayak, Jordon and I are in the double kayak.
KayakingKayaking
Kayaking

Jordon and I kayaking away from the mainland...
Sunset at Lena LoopSunset at Lena Loop
Sunset at Lena Loop

The view from Gretchen's house on Lena Loop
Sunshine CoveSunshine Cove
Sunshine Cove

Jessy and Hannah posing as I snap a shot of them looking out into the water.
Sunshine CoveSunshine Cove
Sunshine Cove

Sarah and Tara climbing up rocks to get to me.
Sunshine CoveSunshine Cove
Sunshine Cove

The mountains, they're beautiful.
Sunshine CoveSunshine Cove
Sunshine Cove

My friend Vic and I striking a pose on a rock in the water.
CampingCamping
Camping

My friends and I went camping on an island, and we came across a rope swing, so we decided to swing on it.
CampingCamping
Camping

Brian driving the skiff and Dylan navigating as we head back to the main land from camping on an island.
CampingCamping
Camping

It wasn't smooth sailing on our way to an island during one of our last-minute camping trips.
NorthstarNorthstar
Northstar

Summers 2004-2007 I worked for a helicopter company (Northstar Trekking) that took people to the glacier to trek around. This is a picture from inside our hanger looking out to the ramp.
NorthstarNorthstar
Northstar

A fond memory of working at Northstar: Waiting for inbounds and taking pictures on the ramp. This is one of my favorites.
NorthstarNorthstar
Northstar

NS1 taking off
NorthstarNorthstar
Northstar

The Northstar Tent on the glacier. This is where all our guides hangout if they're not exploring or waiting for the tourists.
NorthstarNorthstar
Northstar

On the glacier, inside a crevass.
NorthstarNorthstar
Northstar

Dawn checking out a piece of glacial ice on the glacier.
Overlooking JuneauOverlooking Juneau
Overlooking Juneau

Helicopter view of downtown Juneau, valley area, and Auke Bay area all in one picture.
Sandy BeachSandy Beach
Sandy Beach

The only sandy beach we have in Juneau, hence the name 'Sandy Beach'
Sandy BeachSandy Beach
Sandy Beach

Swinging on a swing at Sandy Beach


8th August 2008

hi janelle . I liked your photos. It seems like you had lots of fun there. :)
16th August 2008

great pix
Janelle, you have some wonderful photos. I found your shots when googling about Juneau. I'm going there in a few weeks--on one of those huge cruise ships.
18th August 2008

Well, I hope you have fun while you're here! The weather today is amazing, not too hot and not too cold. Hopefully it stays like this for when you come to visit!
22nd August 2008

Love your photos
Thanks for sharing
28th August 2008

Great photos!
I wonder if photography is an inherent Quimpo family hobby...just wondering is your mom, my aunt Paz II? or do you even know her?

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb