Here we go...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
June 17th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!

Well, here it is...I'm finally graduated and off travelling the world!

As you can tell, I'm in Juneau, Alaska right now on shore leave from the Golden Princess where I'm working as Youth Security. When I am working, my job involves me walking around the ship for about 8 hours occasionally tellling teenagers that they can't sit on the stairs or jump in the pool, or drink/ go into the nightclub. Basically I'm an RA on a cruise ship! Although the job's not all bad; since there really aren't a lot of kids on the boat I get to spend a lot of time talking to the other crew members when I go past where they're working. Also, since I'm usually working during the shows, I might pop my head in and catch a few minutes of a show

When I'm not working, I'm basically sleeping or eating! Well, not quite. But there's not a whole lot to do when we're out at sea and I'm not working. I would try to catch a whole show, but I'm usually working in the evenings when the shows actually are, so I can't do that. I am getting the chance to meet some people though and that's what I want to be doing.

This week's been the first chance that I've (legally) been allowed off the boat, since all new crew have to wait a week to get off thanks to American immigration rules. I did sneak off last week in Skagway though for a few minutes. However, when we were in Seattle on Saturday I got a chance to walk though downtown and go to the Public Market (the place where they throw fish). It seemed like the market up in Coombs, just spread out down a long hallway and over three floors. Then today I got the chance to ride a gondola to the top of a mountain with some great views before coming down to check e-mails and such.

Anyways, I need to head back to the boat but, unfortunately I can't get the picture upload thing to work so pictures are going to have to wait.

I hope everyone's doing well and I'll talk to you all soon

Zach

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb