Alaska in Shorts


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Downtown JuneauDowntown JuneauDowntown Juneau

Downtown Juneau from the back of the ship
So, I'm back at home, but I wish I was still out on the ship. Hopefully I wont have to wait too long until my next contract as I've officially been changed to Youth Staff for my next trip. The only problem is that I don't have another contract right now and have to wait until they find me a new one. Although, maybe I'll get a chance to go somewhere other then Alaska. I didn't mind it up there, but it really seemed a lot like BC so it didn't feel like that much of an adventure.

Now that it's done though, I really did have a good time and can't wait to go again. Met some pretty cool people but didn't really get the chance to get to know them that well since I was gone so fast. I'm not going to write that much this time - it's more about the pictures. I've got more, many many more but these are some of the best. Although for the scenery, the pictures really don't do it justice. Especially the ones in Tracy Arm as we approached the South Sawyer Glacier. My roommate Aaron and I were out there
SkagwaySkagwaySkagway

Broadway St. in Skagway. Notice no streetlights and the wooden sidewalks.
and were just taken away at how amazing it was out there. Hopefully you can get some idea of the beauty from the pictures

Anyways, up next is my cousin's wedding in Vancouver then off to Calgary to do Stampede with Adam and Amanda.

Hope everyone is doing well

Zach


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Tracy ArmTracy Arm
Tracy Arm

Leaving Tracy Arm, AK during the first week. I woke up too late to see the glacier at the end of the arm.
SeattleSeattle
Seattle

Public Market in Seattle
SeattleSeattle
Seattle

Didn't see any live fish get thrown around at the market, but this guy did get tossed.
SeattleSeattle
Seattle

First floor of the market.
Golden Princess in SeattleGolden Princess in Seattle
Golden Princess in Seattle

The ship is so big I couldn't get back far enough to get the full thing in one shot from land......
Golden Princess in JuneauGolden Princess in Juneau
Golden Princess in Juneau

....I had to wait until I was on the tram/gondola in Juneau.
JuneauJuneau
Juneau

The inlet leading to Juneau from the top of Mt. Roberts.
JuneauJuneau
Juneau

More Juneau. See, doesn't it look like BC?
Tracy ArmTracy Arm
Tracy Arm

I made sure I got up nice and early during the second week so I could see the glacier. This is the beginning of the fjord. The pictures don't do it justice.
Alaska in ShortsAlaska in Shorts
Alaska in Shorts

See. Shorts. Sandles too.
Blue IceBlue Ice
Blue Ice

This iceburg was so intensely blue it was amazing.
South Sawyer GlacierSouth Sawyer Glacier
South Sawyer Glacier

First chance to see the glacier
South Sawyer GlacierSouth Sawyer Glacier
South Sawyer Glacier

We couldn't get any closer and the pictures really don't do the scenery justice.
60's crew party60's crew party
60's crew party

Ericka and my roommate Aaron.
60's crew party60's crew party
60's crew party

Aaron holding court after the party with some of the other youth staff.
Champange WaterfallChampange Waterfall
Champange Waterfall

Second formal night on the ship
Champange WaterfallChampange Waterfall
Champange Waterfall

A shot of the atrium while the waterfall is being filled
My roomMy room
My room

A shot from the door of my room. I was top bunk.
VictoriaVictoria
Victoria

Back of the Golden Princess while docked in Victoria
SeattleSeattle
Seattle

Space Needle. It wasn't that impressive up close
SeattleSeattle
Seattle

Experience Music Project, right next to the Space Needle


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb