Alaska Wildlife Cruise & Scuba Diving


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
May 9th 2008
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sea lion rookery on Benjamin IslandSea lion rookery on Benjamin IslandSea lion rookery on Benjamin Island

photo by Lisa Bogert (my awesome boss that gave me the pics after my camera died)
Hey everyone. So classes are finally over for the semester and even though my BioChem grade wasn't as good as I wanted, I'm glad I'm finally done with chemistry...forever!! 😊 Well, at least for a little while. The weekend after finals, I got the opportunity to go out on a wildlife cruise sponsored by the audobon society. We saw some amazing wildlife including eagles, oyster-catchers, sea lions, humpback whales, and a lot of other species of birds that I'm not that familiar with. When we got out to Berner's Bay, we were in for a real treat as the sea lions started jumping out of the water and then the humpbacks started breaching. It was an amazing experience and a great way to spend the weekend before the tourists take over Juneau!

Then yesterday, Ai and I took a little jaunt out to Auke Rec and hit the cold water to go scuba diving. It was a pretty comical experience as we lost each other, then went the wrong direction, then I got distracted by a bunch of crabs and quit navigating where I was going so we ended up making a big circle. Needless to say, after all that
Sea lionsSea lionsSea lions

(pic by Lisa Bogert)
time in the water, we didn't find the two wooden boats we were looking for or even get relatively close but we had some fun just getting out into the water. The surface swim back to shore though was such a bad idea!! All together, we spent 42 minutes on the bottom in 39 degree water and my feet only went numb during the last 5 minutes or so. I love Alaska!!

And now, it's only 5 days before I take off for Idaho and 19 days before I head out on my roadtrip across the U.S.! Will keep you all updated with photos during my adventure! Thanks for reading...😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

More sea lionsMore sea lions
More sea lions

(photo by L.B.)
Humpback whaleHumpback whale
Humpback whale

(photo by L.B.)
Humpback whale 2Humpback whale 2
Humpback whale 2

(photo by L.B.)
Humpback whale 3Humpback whale 3
Humpback whale 3

(photo by L.B.)
Humpback whale 4Humpback whale 4
Humpback whale 4

(photo by L.B.)
Me with the gear (predive)Me with the gear (predive)
Me with the gear (predive)

(photo by Ai Takahashi)


Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1088s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb