Alaska, British Columbia, & some Idaho fishing


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
May 24th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After spending a week being bum and doing some fishing with my friend Vicki (very exciting experience including a couple flounder and a very determined Alaskan King Crab), I boarded the M/V Taku on my trip back to Idaho to stop and see my parentals. The Taku left Juneau around 9 o'clock at night and I didn't make it in to Prince Rupert, BC until two days later at 5:30am (4:30 Alaska time). It was a lot of fun though as I explored the decks of the ship, took pictures of the foggy surroundings, talked to a couple passengers, played the Deer Hunting video game during times at Port, ran up and down the stairs to the car deck to quickly change my clothes when we had access to the car deck, and taking in deep breaths of ocean wind on those two nights "at sea."

I was a little sore though from sleeping on the floor two days in a row and jumping right into my car wasn't the greatest idea. Getting that wake-up call at 4am Alaska time that we were nearing Prince Rupert was a hard thing to hear after a rough night at sea led to very little sleep. I somehow got up, rolled up my sleeping bag, brushed my teeth, recovered my fish DNA from a locker, packed the DNA and fish with some ice, and waited for us to get to the port. Those first few hours driving went by really slow as I cut through the raining countryside of British Columbia commonly referred to as the Charlotte Island region. Apparently (and just my luck), the entire area had suddenly been overcome by a warm front and along with all of the raining expected, the entire area was on alert for major flooding and avalanches. Luckily, I passed through the region pretty quickly and made it into Williams Lake, BC (the Caribou region) around 5pm that night.

Like a good kid, I called my mother just so she knew I was on my way and then drove those last 40 miles for the night to the Lac La Hache provincial park to set up my tent and get some sleep. After the camp attendant came around and a cold dinner of a peanut butter sandwich and a banana, I crawled into my tent and passed out from exhaustion by 8:30pm. I woke up at some point when it was still dark and suddenly thought that I had slept too long and needed to get going. Luckily though, it was only 12:30am so I went back to sleep. Around 4:30am though, it suddenly got really cold in my tent and by 5am my teeth started chattering. I finally got tired of being cold and quickly changed and threw all of my stuff in to my car. By 6am, I was on the road again as the sun came up over the Caribou region.

About 6 hours, a gas and ice stop, a breakfast of a muffin and another banana, and a short stop in wine country at a nice winery shaped like a castle, I crossed the U.S. border and cut through East Washington (one of the dreaded parts of my trip). By that time, it was about 90 degrees outside and road-construction kind of put me in a grumpy mood. By 5:30pm that night though, I was back at my parent's house in Idaho saying hi to my family and taking a very hot, long shower.

This past week has been spent getting ready for my long roadtrip next week, reading up on DNA and sharks, doing a little shopping, and spending some time with the animals and family. Oh yah, sleeping was an added benefit too! 😊 It has been a nice week, but Tuesday is when the real adventure begins as I head from Lewiston, Idaho, to Columbia, South Carolina. I can hardly wait!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



3rd March 2011
Alaskan King crab male and female

king crab
then what now after showing the photograph?

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb