One Day at a Time...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Delta Junction
September 12th 2009
Published: September 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I don't know why I'm always amazed at how God can teach me things through the toughest times in my life and it be exactly what I need. He really does know what I need at the most appropriate time. I shouldn't be surprised after all he IS God! Thank you Lord for constantly reminding me of this fact! You are always here and I'm the one who continually has to struggle to come back to you. I've spent way too much time in my life trying to be "something" that I'm not. Trying to be what the "world" tells me I need to be but the reality is I'm a child of God and I don't belong to this world.

"And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God." (Romans 12:2)

I am not supposed to yield myself and be conformed or molded by the values that this world has to offer. "A mind dedicated to the world and its concerns will produce a life tossed back and forth by the currents of culture. But a mind dedicated to God's truth will produce a life that can stand the test of time." - Rodmacher (footnotes NKJV Study Bible pg. 1786) We have countless examples throughout the Bible of men who have chosen not to conform to what the world says they should do or not do, the most notable being Christ himself. If we are to be like Christ then it must be important to know him and how he went about doing things so as not to get caught up in the foolishness of this world or culture. With so many things to distract us from doing this I am convinced more each day that we have got to be living in the most difficult age yet. With so many enticing "distractions" it is so easy to totally leave God out of our lives if we let them. It takes a "daily" commitment to not be conformed. What's amazing to comprehend is that Jesus could have chosen to come to us as a mighty king but instead he came as a normal man and chose to serve others through the strength of his father.

"Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men." (Philippians 2:5-7)

How many of us "know" this but instead choose the wrong road to wander down. This is no fluke, God knows that it will be a struggle and that's why he sent the Holy Spirit to us so that we can tap into his power which lives in us now. Once we confess that Christ's death on the cross is the "only" way we can be saved from an eternity in hell, the Holy Spirit comes to live inside us to help guide and direct us thru life. As Christians we have that same Holy Spirit of God inside us and consistently choose not to use this power over sin. Oh we may call upon him during times of difficulty but he isn't needed for everyday life is he? So we think! That's where the struggle begins. The struggle between the "flesh" and the "spirit". For each action there is a war over what we will do. We know this best as illustrated in cartoons with the angel and the devil on each shoulder lobbying their case for their side. We know who usually wins too! The one with the most appealing outcome majority of the time. It is comforting to know that we are not alone in our struggle to do what's right. In the Bible, Paul spoke so openly and honestly about his own personal struggle. He goes on to say that there is a power inside him that he cannot overcome himself,

"For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do...But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find." (Romans 7:15, 17, 18)

This is not a week to week struggle as some of us try to convince ourselves by going to church every Sunday, but a daily one. How many times have you had one good day only to be followed by a bad one? Or several bad days only accompanied by the "occasional" good day? If we have this power inside us why don't we tap into it on a daily basis? Because we can't see the results we want quick enough? I profess that is more than likely the reason for me. I am so impatient it's rediculous. That and the fact that it doesn't "fit" into my normal everyday "grind" of life. It sounds too churchy or boring. I know I can only speak for myself but I would venture to bet that there are more people who would admit to this same struggle. Only when we consciously step outside of the (world) box can we see what is really needed to sustain our spiritual life. Until we pull ourselves away from what we "think" is real in a Matrix kind of way we will be hard pressed to overcome the temptations the world has to offer. What we think is real isn't real at all to a spirit filled believer. It is so hard to let go of the things of this world that I enjoy but I know are not good for me. Only until I came up here to Alaska did I see that reality more clearly than I ever have before. I complain that this place is so slow and void of "excitement" but it's that excitement that only leads to trouble or at least will pull me away from what God is trying to accomplish in my life. The slow pace has enabled me to regain the closeness that I need to have the relationship with God that I want and need. As I go day to day I pray that I continue to grow in the love and patience and servanthood that will make my Father proud of me one day. I can only achieve this "one day at a time".


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb