Mama told me there’d be days like these


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have often wondered about the phrase “If life gives you lemons then make lemonade” and what it means exactly? After the recent events of the past few months of my life I think I’m beginning to understand. I have had no choice but to “deal” with the blows that have been distributed my way. My choices were few but very evident. I could either learn to roll with them or try my darndest to fight it somehow. Fortunately, I’ve lived long enough to know that fighting it just prolongs the inevitable. If there is a lesson to be learned here it is best that I go ahead and allow it to happen instead of fighting it. In the end the result is the same, it’s the time it takes to get through whatever lesson is to be learned that is at stake here! Let’s face it, none of us are getting any younger and time is not something I’m willing to waste!

My most recent event was losing my laptop. I had been enjoying waking up with God at the wee hours of the morning whenever he wanted to talk to me and capture my thoughts later to be recorded in this blog. That privilege has been taken away from me but I know there is a reason, just don’t know yet? I fought with God about it for a couple of days right after it happened but then I had to realize that He’s not out to get me here. There is a reason for everything that happens both good and bad. I’m reminded of the story of Job, how everything was taken from him as a test of his faith. I’m not sure that’s what’s happening to me here but I am reminded of how he was rewarded for his attitude through it all in the end. If nothing else I would hope that my attitude would be pleasing and possibly inspiring to others along the way. The other pretty cool realization is that God has to grant Satan permission to mess with me just like in Job. If you are not familiar with this story it’s a pretty awesome read! I would encourage you to get into it and unleash the power inside! You will see your struggles in a whole new light, especially if you are a child of the King.

I have more time than ever to let God inside and make some changes. The revelation is coming slow, at least according to my time table…that reminds me of another great read, “My Heart Christ’s Home”. A great illustration how God is inside our hearts wanting to change the things that are damaging to us. We have to be the one to let him do it. He doesn’t force us to do anything when it comes to matters of the heart. We have to unlock the doors to the rooms that are too dark for just anyone else to do it. I think I'm in the process of unlocking doors I didn't know I had or possibly forgotten or hidden from my memory. I can't say that I'm enjoying the process but I know deep down inside that it is needed in order for me to be free to live the life that ultimately God wants me to live!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb