"Great 90 second ride on the world's largest zip line in Alaska"


Advertisement
Published: April 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

#floating#floating#floating

3, 2, 1 GOOOO :)
The longest and fastest zip rider in the world is in Icy Strait Point in Alaska. The port was accessible by cruise ship and our ship Celebrity Millennium did a tender to the port 😊 I was firsts time here in Icy Strait, and I was absolutely amazed by the nature and beauty of this place while we were in the tender boat on the way to the port.

So that morning in the mid of spring I went out with some friends, just to have a look what the place has to offer. I saw the zip line for a far away and people screaming while the did the ride down and instantly I wanted to go be the next zip rider. Myself and John from South Africa decided to go for a our secret escape to the mountain top.

I have done a few of the adrenaline rush activities and I have to say that this zip line was great.

5,330 feet long, 1,300 foot vertical drop, 60 mph maximum speed, 300 feet highest point from ground, 1.5 minute ride time!

I was looking for a true adventure so the ZipRIder turns to be just for people like me. Unlike anything I have seen before the ZipRider cable ride at Icy Strait Point is truly a once in a lifetime experience. My adventure begin when I board the bus for the ride to the top of the mountain, The driver narrate as he pass though the village if Hoonah and then up to the mountainside.

The ride up the mountain in the bus was fun in itself - a local man drove us in a refurbed school bus, giving us a fun and informative talk about local customs, history, etc.

Once I was on the tip we took a short walk to the launching area. At 1,300 feet above sea level I set into a special harness seat and await my launch. Six persons launch at once, and it is a race to the bottom! John was next to. He was busy with the left hand holding his camera taking a video from the zip ride.

3, 2, 1 and I am off, accelerating to 60 mph as I pass 300 feet above the treetops.

I was a little scary at the top looking down before the gate opens up. The
#nature#nature#nature

Amazing view on the rainforest island
first couple of seconds are scary but once you get going it is not bad until you get to the end when you ask yourself how am I going to stop.

Then you catch your breath and swing around to catch the stunning views. My eyes were still open and I saw sweeping views of Port Frederick, Icy Strait and Celebrity MIllennium ship far bellow.

When you approach the bottom, the zip line slows you down and stops you, so you don't have to worry about having to break.

The staff at ZipRider take photos of you as you are coming down and when you get to the bottom that you can purchase if you wish. The whole experience was wonderful from beginning to end.

The ZIP . . . I would do it again in a heartbeat! Fun, thrilling and exciting…absolutely incredible.



It's not just a ride, it's a great tour on the way up!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Celebrity Millennium proudly docking in Icy Strait Point, Alaska


Tickets purchased ....ready for a new adventure!!!


Local driver sharing some information....
#zipline#zipline
#zipline

We are here, finally :)




Me; John on the right and the guy from ZipRider


I never said NO for new things :)


Ready?! :)


The view ....just amazing !!!





WOO HOO :)





Hold it there :)


Me and John made it safely :)


Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.046s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb