Journey to Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Alaskan Highway
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The final 15 hours that I spent driving to Anchorage were largely uneventful if you don’t count the near skid into the ditch or the intense interrogation at US Customs. I got off the ferry at Haines, AK and drove to Haines Junction, Yukon the first day, a 3 hour drive. Getting into Canada was easy enough, it was pretty cold outside so I don’t think that the guy wanted to stand outside anymore. On my drive, I passed by Tatshenshini Alsek National Park, passed my favorite river, Tatshenshini River (my e-mail) and Alsek River (my parent’s e-mail). We did a two week rafting trip a couple of years ago and it still ranks as an all time favorite experience for me. It was the first of many moments where I felt like I was truly coming home. I was going to spend the next two days driving to Anchorage, but I decided to bag it and drive all the way home - 12 hours in one day in order to surprise my poor mother. The next morning, I voluntarily woke up at 5:45 am and gunned for the border. The outside temperature was 43 degrees in Haines, but in the Yukon it hit -9 degrees and this is only October! I knew it was cold when my feet were still numb despite have the heat on. Still is was a clear beautiful day and the mountains were so amazing! At the US border they were so nosy! I can never tell if they are asking out of general interest or what. The officier took a look at my passport and asked what I was doing in New Zealand - even though it was student visa - duh! I have to ask since when is New Zealand on the terror watch list? Those environmental friendly practices there have made it an axis of evil according to the oil company friendly Bush Administration. By then it was 18 degrees and feeling balmy outside, but I was really craving pizza at my favorite restaurant, Fast Eddy’s in Tok 2 hours down the road so I roared off. The roads were really good and I was flying. I really wanted to get to Fast Eddy’s. Suddenly the trance that I had worked myself into was destroyed when I was stopped because of a rollover. The ambulance was directing traffic so when I was passing them and they signaled to me, I almost skidded into the ditch. It was really icy. Ironic that when I was about to go into the ditch the ambulance was there already and they are to blame for my skid. Well I made it to Fast Eddy’s and their food was better than I remember, but I still had to drive 6 hours to get to Anchorage. Again the mountains were so amazing, I can’t even begin to capture their beauty. Anyway, the rest of the drive was uneventful and boy was my mom surprised when I tooted the horn before walking inside. It’s good to be home after a hot shower and some good home cooking. 2 days later… I have started my new job with Alaska Department of Fish and Game today. I am doing a 2 month Chinook salmon smolt tagging project where we do unspeakable torture to fish in the name of science. Haha. We cut off the adipose fin (on the top of the fish closest to the tail) and inject a small wire with a code into their head. It is all humane except to the workers of course… Finally I bought my ticket so it’s official. I am going to New Zealand and Austrailia for 4 months, leaving in early January. Another adventure, another day…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb