Day 64 Gulf Shores to Pensacola 35 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
November 24th 2008
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nov 21 Its a freezing cold start again today and its quite a chore to get out of the tent and wrap it up. I get well wrapped up for the journey and am instantly dismayed when the mysterious rasping noise from the trailer comes back worse and more persistent than ever. The culprit turns out to be my flag pole which I extract every night , has been shoved in too deep and was rasping against the wheel, thank god for that , I thought that I was damaging the trailer. I am on the coast today passing through Perdido Key , Gulf Beach and then through the thickly wooded Sorrento Road which gives good cover against the chill wind.
It is not long before I am in Pensacola where I have decided to take a day off , the first since Opelusa. One good thing about the bigger towns is that there are clusters of motels, which seems to drive the price down. The owners are also open to negotiation and will usualy take $10 lower than their opening gambit. By visiting a few I am able to secure a room with cable internet fridge and micro for $35 only $7 more than I paid to pitch my tent last night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



24th November 2008

Hello from Texas
Hey David...I have been reading your blogs...sounds like you have been having quite the adventure. You actually passed thorugh a couple of areas where I have relatives and I am sorry that I did not realize you were going through those towns or I would have given you some names and numbers....You are getting close to finishing David's Big Adventure....stay safe. Collene

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb