Day 63 Grand Bay to Gulf Shores 51 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nov20 I am looking forward to going to my next destination Gulf Shores as it has been recommended to me . One problem though I have to catch a ferry from Dauphin Island across Mobile Bay and they only run every 1hr 30mins. The ideal ferry is at 11.00am but I have to cycle 30 miles to get there , that means an early rise, packing a wet tent and setting off by 8.00am, as it happens I get away by 8.15am. The journey starts well with favourable winds and quiet smooth roads, wonderful , after an hour I am well on schedule to make the boat. I then develop a problem , a loud rasping from the trailer which sounds like a bag is dragging on the road, this comes and goes and many stops to resolve the problem produce no solution. These stops delay me but I make it just in time, crossing the huge Gordon Persons Bridge on the way.
I am delighted to make the ferry and on disembarking have only 21 miles to cover to Gulf Shores. This place has obviously suffered massive uncontrolled overdevelopment over the last decade and is a bit of a dissappointment. There are two campgrounds and I have to pay $28 in the state park hemmed in between big RV's. It is alittle bit like Tenerife here but with less people around perhaps due to the unseasonably cold weather, real estate signs are everywhere and the vacant half built lots remind me a lot of the Spanish property bubble.
On a brighter note there is an all you can eat shrimp restaurant so I decide to go for that as I can eat a lot of shrimp, a lot.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



23rd November 2008

We know a song about that
to be sung in the key of G ..... Clickity, clackity, clickity clack! The train speeds over the railroad track. It rolls and rattles and screeches its song And pulls and jiggles its freight cars along. Clickity, clackity, clickity, clack! The engine in front is big and black. The cars are filled with lots of eels And hovercraft sauce for healthy meals. Clickity, clackity, clickity, clack! The engineer waves, and I wave back. I count the cars as the freight train goes and the whitle blows and blows....and blows!

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb