Talladega Nights


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
February 10th 2008
Published: February 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Talladega, Alabama people! Home of the nation’s fastest NASCAR track (and little else.) When I awoke this fine morning, there was a bird outside making a noise like an alarm clock. That is my Alabama “thing.” (NC- trees, SC- zoo.) The Bama Birds. What are they?

Went to this little tiny theatre in the middle of downtown. Kyle and I had quite a time backing the truck through an alley that was not wide or tall enough for it. Very fun. Then we used less than half of my lighting rig. Fun stuff!

Kyle duct taped my mouth shut. A long strip of tape from behind my ears and across my face. Yes. Quite fun.

The theater was really small; not all of the required stuff was done or ready for me, which was sort of annoying, but the crew was great in getting it all straightened out and since there was not much to load in, I was calm.

We got to eat with the kids, which was super fun. They’re starting to figure out who I am and whatnot, so they’re engaging with me more. And I with them. Martie cracks me up! Rita still insists that she is not ticklish, and Gorret always says “No Auntie, I am not that strong. Everything is just too weak.” They think Piggly Wiggly is the funniest thing in the world. Yesterday we tried to get them to say it 5 times fast. Funny! After the show tonight, I was in the dressing room with the girls and Ruthie said, “Auntie, thank you for doing the lightning.” Woot! Love it!

We got some amazing chocolate cake at this little diner. Yum.

Kyle, Anne and I agreed this was our best show yet, all in all. The kids were singing up and being great and mostly the sound and lights went correctly. I didn’t have to call Ryan until almost 5 hours into the in today, which is by far a record, and it was for a problem we had not seen yet.

Kyle came into our room after the show (as usual) and he, Sarah, and I had a nice chat. Not about anything in particular, just things we’ve noticed and seen and getting to know each other. Nice.

I’m sure there’s lots of stuff I left out (like the fact that it’s over 60 every day and I love wearing shorts), but it’s quite late and I’m tired.


Since we couldn’t use any of our cyc lights, we ended up using theirs, so I mixed the colors live, which was my first time. Kind of fun. But they only had blue, red and yellow, some of which were burnt out and the yellow was quite ugly and wouldn’t make green. So we had various degrees of orange, pink, purple and regular blue. Not a lot of options, but enough.

Advertisement



10th February 2008

Good News
Hey, Glad to hear that things are going better. I am also glad that you are merging in with the team. Remeber to treat everybody like they are the most important member of the team and they will respond as if they are. Love the shorts idea maybe I'll do it if it gets over 50 here. Miss ya, Dave

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb