Church


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
February 11th 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There is something I’ve always loved about doing my quiet times early in the morning- before ay one else is even up. I was again reminded of this yesterday, when I got up and went outside and sat on a bench, just me and Jesus and nature. It was very reminiscent of camp- really early, and I had a lot to do that day, but first I needed to sit at the feet King of the day. Camp is the same way. If I don’t get that time, the day is pretty shot. He encourages me and reminds me of little things. Those have been some of my favorite moments- sitting at a picnic table by the river or at a table in the dining hall while the ovens were heating.

When I told Millers and Compognos that I would be leaving, Amy told me something that I’ve daily reminded myself of. “When I was on tour, that is when I built the foundations of my quiet times. You have to do it for yourself or it will not happen.” Something like that. So, with that in mind, I am doing my best to make it happen. Being intentional. Feeding myself, as Joe would say.

I’ve been going through the Old Testament, and I’m in Zechariah. Yesterday, I was reading chapter 8, and several things stood out to me. (My paraphrases) “My love for is passionate and strong. I am consumed with passion for ” He loves us so much. He’s talking to the people of Jerusalem as they are building, or supposed to be building the Temple. They’re stopping and getting discouraged, as it is a big task. “All this may seem impossible to you now, a small remnant of God’s people. BUT IS IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME?” Nothing is impossible for God. Point and case: I am here on this tour. And as things get harder and harder and I want to stop, He reminds me. “This is what the LORD of Heaven’s Armies says: Be strong and finish the task!... I will rescue you and make you both a symbol and a source of blessing. So don’t be afraid. Be strong, and get on with ” It was like a gentle encouragement. “I love you. Now go, do this. Be strong and do not be afraid.” The ‘do not be afraid’ part has been what I’ve been hearing over and over for the last two months.

And, today in Luke, he reminded me of the same thing. Luke is telling of when Jesus called several people and they said, “Ok, in a minute. Let me…” Jesus’ response was “Anyone who puts a hand to the plow and then looks back is not fit for the Kingdom of God.”

Do the task set before you. Nothing is impossible, and He loves us more than we can imagine. Be strong and courageous; finish what you start; trust Him. That simple.

We went to church this morning; a great Southern Baptist Church. Choirs singing, “Amens” all over the place, preaching fire down from heaven. It was definitely a culture shock. The message was good, but a little hard to follow; some good points, but not so easy to connect. Kyle’s analogy was comparing the Church of Scotland with a highland cow- it has 2 points, far apart, with a lot of bull in the middle. The preacher was also very… passionate… and quite the shouter. He got the kids giggling pretty good, especially at the end when he started singing his sermon. “Auntie… he was singing and preaching…”

We had a relaxing morning and church, then lunch. The show went very well. Tomorrow we have 2 more and then traveling… After the show, we relaxed some more, ate, and had sort of a family time in devotions. We all went around the circle and said what we like most about the show and the tour and whatnot. It was very fun because I learned a little more about each child. Then they all said good night. It was fun as I got my hugs because I could say good night to each child by name, almost. Very nice.

Rita, at lunch today, ask me what my favorite movie was “back when I was young.” I asked if they thought I was old and they all replied, “Yes Auntie.” Ruthie read to me for a bit on the bus. She is so smart! And our only girl drummer, which is fun.

Through a few more states tomorrow, I think.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb