Day 4 - Planes, Dinosours and a Henge


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Daphne
April 10th 2014
Published: April 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post



I started the day heading to the Navy Aviation Museum. I figured a Wednesday would be a quiet time to visit the museum. Man was I ever wrong. When I arrived all the parking lots were closed cars were parked all over the side of the roads. I was ready to turn around and head somewhere else. After all, I've been here before, this is a repeat visit. So I drove past the place found a turnaround and as I approached from the other direction, people were leaving and they were opening one of the lots. It turns out the Blue Angels had just finished an air show. So I was able to get a decent parking spot.

First thing that struck me when I walked in was how much room there was. I remembered this museum as being jam packed with planes. I was never able to get good shots of the planes because they were so crowded in. It turns out that they have added a new building so they could spread things out a bit. It was so much nicer. The other nice thing here is they don't rope off all the displays. you can get right up to the planes and touch them. They have also taken the cockpit section of many planes and set them up so you can sit in the pilots seat and see what it was like to fly some of the planes.



Of course I found a henge. This is Bamma-Henge, built by the man who brought us Foam-Henge, Mark Cline. This is the only henge in the US made of fiberglass. It's tucked away in the woods so it's a little hard to find, in fact I drove by it at first, it was only when I saw the dinosaur crossing that I knew I must be close. As I was leaving, I stopped at a stop sign about a mile down the road. there I saw a guy pulled over to the side of the road. As I stopped he yelled over to me. Do you know if there is a Stone Henge near here? I told him it's about a mile down the road on the right, it's hard to see because it's about 200' into the trees. If you see the dinosaur crossing sign you've gone to far but you can turn around by the Stegosaurus. He gave me a strange look, and I drove away.



Finally, a good meal. Of course this place was featured on DDD so I was pretty sure it would be decent. I had the seafood Jubilee. Shrimp, Oysters, Fish, Stuffed Crab, Hushpuppies, Fries and Coleslaw. all the seafood was great, I don't think I've ever had better shrimp. My only complaint would be that the coleslaw had to much mayonnaise (yes I said to much mayonnaise). Of course the décor is what really makes this place, every square inch is covered with antiques. the waitress told me the collection dates back to 1929.

Tomorrow I start at the Battleship Alabama. After that, I'm not sure yet. My original plan had me in New Orleans tonight, but obviously I'm still a little bit from there. I think I'm going to scrap New Orleans from the trip and start heading north tomorrow. I'm looking forward to some Memphis BBQ.

And hey, there's a whole bunch of other photo's from this tip here:

http://s868.photobucket.com/user/kaptkugs/slideshow/Gulf%!C(MISSING)oast%!<(MISSING)/a>

Advertisement



10th April 2014

Blues
Too bad you missed the Blue Angels. They put on a whale of a show. It is so great they are back in the air after sequestration last year. Looking forward to seeing them at my old base in Virginia Beach this fall. Where to after Memphis? Gonna go to Elvis's house?

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb