Day 5 - USS Alabama to Memphis BBQ in Mississippi


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Mississippi » Horn Lake
April 11th 2014
Published: April 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post



Today started at the USS Alabama in Mobile, AL. I've been here before, but it's been close to ten years. Not much has changed with the ships, but they have opened an aircraft hanger and filled it with quite a few planes. I spent most of my morning here wandering around and exploring the ships.

After I left Mobile I took a nice long drive North along the Eastern edge of Mississippi. It was a nice slow drive, no interstates, no traffic. Just a nice drive in 80 degree weather.



I tell ya, If you want real Memphis BBQ, you need to go to Mississippi. The Memphis BBQ Company is about ten miles outside of Memphis, but it's the real deal. They have won over 10 world championships.

I went with a combo platter, 1/2 rack of Baby back Ribs, Turkey Sausage, Brisket, Corn Bread, Fried Okra, Coleslaw, A Bottle of Stella and Pork Rhines. This rates right up there with Smitty's in Texas. I think Smitty's wins on atmosphere, but for quality of food, it's close.

Tomorrow I head into Memphis, maybe. I don't know if I'm going to Graceland or not. we'll have to see....



More photos from this trip at:

http://s868.photobucket.com/user/kaptkugs/slideshow/Gulf%!C(MISSING)oast%!<(MISSING)/a>

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb