Irishman in Alabama


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Auburn
January 26th 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

D+4

Real quick, before I head off to work.

One of the greatest sources of laughter for us has been Kyle- the sound guy. He’s from Ireland originally, but calls Glasgow home now. Needless to say, he fits in really well down here with all the other people who talk funny. He pronounces every letter in “aluminum,” plus some extras. At dinner the other night, he asked for “a portion of chips,” and the waitress had no idea what that meat. I always order a pitcher of water at restaurants, and he always makes sure and orders ice. He’s a drinker too, we’ll sit and go through pitchers just the two of us. And American BBQ sauce goes on everything!

He also imported a new adjective to describe my feet- manky. On the first day, I was explaining to them that, no, my feet were not cold, and yes, I’m fine walking around without them. He looked at them and very seriously told me they were manky. You can use that one from now on.

Kyle’s keeping an eye on me and making me feel welcome- helping in any way he can. But the best part is that he brought some amazing CHOCOLATE from the UK! Marci says he love chocolate as much as I do; we shall see.

Advertisement



26th January 2008

New Job
Smith, Hang in there. Any new job has a high learning curve. Remember back to when you first started to learn about lights, sound, or tractor driving. Give yourself a break and learn as much from your mistakes as well as your successes. Also remember eveyone handles pressure differently. Be the calm one. Miss ya and praying for ya, Dave

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb