Is it showtime yet?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Auburn
January 26th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

FishingFishingFishing

The kids form a boat and show how dangerous fishing is in Africa. There's even crocodile! (or is it an alligator?)
Almost there… I hope. Today was much better. Tech went a lot smoother, and we got in a few full run-thrus, costumes and all. Lots more programming for me. My fingers sure are getting tired. Man, I’m sure learning some new things on this desk!

For lunch, several of us walked to Winn-Dixie, which was fun on several counts. It was my first time in such a supermarket, and we all had our radios on in our ears still. Pretty much we goofed off a lot. Speaking of radios- I love the headsets we have for them, and we DEFINITELY need to get some wireless ClearComms for Life Center. They’re pretty much amazing. So, I end up with my radio in my right ear, Comm on my left, radio, Leatherman, PockIts, and Comm pack on my belt- with so many wires on me and so much weight on my pants, is amazing I can function!

Last night we got in pretty late, but still a while before the other van arrived. I fell asleep before Sarah got in, with all the lights on and everything. I was dead. Hopefully again tonight. Tomorrow, the kids have 3 church shows between
50 Flags50 Flags50 Flags

All the flags of Africa. As seen on our stage.
techs, so they have to be up really early, but I don’t! We don’t have to be anywhere until noon. Yea!

There is one dance from a country that I can’t remember, where the families present betrothed children to the people of the village. They believe that if their sons dance well, they will make good husbands. Each boy goes over to each girl and dances for her. Sometimes they get accepted, sometimes they get turned down. One girl always makes her guy do pushups on stage to prove how strong he is! And poor Gorett, she always tries very hard not to laugh at the boys. Now all I need to find is a good dancer who is my age!

At the end of the show, all 50 of the flags from Africa are flown in. I was onstage with the kids during a lot of this. They could name more countries’ flags than I could US states! “Auntie. This is Uganda’s flag. This is my home. This is where I come from. Look, Auntie!” They told me all about the crested crane that is on the flag and what the colors mean. “It is the most
Uganda and RwandaUganda and RwandaUganda and Rwanda

The two most beautiful flags!
beautiful of the African flags, Auntie.” Then Martin piped in. “What about this one Auntie? (pointing to the one next to it.) It is beautiful too. This is where I am from. Rwanda. I am the only one here from my country.” All of them were asking me, “Where is that flag from? Which country is that?” Yeah, like I know. I wouldn’t be able to find any of the countries on a map either. Thank goodness for Google! Slowly but surely, I am learning the African flags.

I don’t mind so much working with the high school guys. They’re getting better. I do miss Mosaic, though. And, I must say, I hate being called ma’am. I understand that it’s a cultural thing, but it can go away, I’m not old enough. Our kids are welcome to call me Grandma, but not ma’am.

The kids speak very well, but whenever we recite they’re lines, we always say it with an African accent. They’re grammar is amazing, thanks to Auntie Sarah, who makes them do jumping jacks if they speak incorrectly.

I talked to Tato for a bit tonight. He still hasn’t figured out how the time difference worked. I asked him what he’s doing tomorrow and he asked, “What day is it tomorrow where you are?”

Advertisement



28th January 2008

It sounds like you have hit the ground running. Remember your strenght is not needing to know everything, but being persistant enought to figure it out. Take care you'll do great! Love you, Liane

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb