Mystery day #1


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
July 21st 2014
Published: September 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

The flea market starts here - at parent's houseThe flea market starts here - at parent's houseThe flea market starts here - at parent's house

It's on the right. Two story red/orange.
Geo: 20.6736, -103.344

I call it that because who know what's in store for today. I set the alarm for 7:30am but struggled to get up at 8. Tired form two days of partying, I showered, ate breakfast and grabbed a cab for Martin's. This time the ride was 42 pesos, not the usual 70. I didn't argue, hey I'm a gringo. What do I know? Today is Monday and Monday is tianguis day on Maria Uribe St. Yes, flea market. Mom knows that we always walk it, with her picking up some weird vegetables, fruits and nuts. I bought some bananas, that's it. We visited with Martin's neighbors along the way, met Gato's parents and returned for coffee and cake. While I practiced the Mexican life by sitting outside watching the people and traffic, saying "Buenas Dias" to everybody, Israel pulled up so I went with him to pick up smoke supplies and then to his shoe factory. We had a nice visit. Martin came by, saying it was time to go to The Pyramids. Ok. I'm game.

Of in the car we go, five of us. Martin, Cindy and Martin's brother Manuel and his wife, Ceci. It takes a little over
At the tianguis with Martin & Alex At the tianguis with Martin & Alex At the tianguis with Martin & Alex

Martin is my brother-in-law and Alex helped me with my house before he returned to Mexico.
an hour to get there. It's pyramids that were built by the Indians before the Spanish came to the area. They're not tall, only about 50 ft and nothing elaborate but on a nice hillside overlooking a lake. We walked to the different site and Cindy made it to the top. It was hot! After that, a drive through a small town to a restaurant favored by Martin. Beer, of course, followed by chips, salsa and a seafood plate for four. I liked the shrimp, octopus, frog legs but not the fish head or anything fishy. It was a nice place right on the lake we saw from the hillside pyramid site. Trees grew from the floor.

Our return ride for an hour brought us to the home of Ramone & Tere where we took a breather from the back seat of the car, reminding us of every bump in the road. Martin and Cindy stayed to see some pictures while I left with .......they dropped me at the hotel before proceeding on their own..these people down here are all very nice and very protective for me. They won't let me take a taxi until the check it out first. Very
Trying some cactus.  It's very popular here. Trying some cactus.  It's very popular here. Trying some cactus. It's very popular here.

It's red because of the sun through the tarp.
kind.

Well, I tried to find out what's in store for tomorrow but, as usual, no one knows so that will lead to my next title, Mystery Day # 2. Time to call Mom, finish my Marguarita and clean up. Oh oh. The hotel lady just came to the bar to tell me to call Martin. I wonder what's up..

Until tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

This guy wheels his wheelbarrow full of plantsThis guy wheels his wheelbarrow full of plants
This guy wheels his wheelbarrow full of plants

I think I'd get a cart. Probably not in his business plan.
Israel showing one of his latest models.Israel showing one of his latest models.
Israel showing one of his latest models.

He makes women's and children's shoes.
The entrance with along walk up to top.The entrance with along walk up to top.
The entrance with along walk up to top.

Mom wouldn't have liked that climb.


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb