Isla Mujeres; A family and Fuck the Police!!!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
November 5th 2010
Published: November 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After Isla Mujeres; a small island on the Caribbean.
It´s just a very nice place to stay. We stayed there for a week at Poc Na hostel; a great hostel ever!
There we got to know Micheal(Irish), Lee(British), Sam(British) and Fhilippe(Canadian).
Later we have become a family!!! We also got to know a very deep and interesting guy; Karim(Mexican) who is (kind of) working at Poc Na. Karim is known (for us) as " a citizen of the world". There is a story behide that but I will tell you later:-)

Here we go; the best story of our journey(so far):
On 29t of October 2010 on Isla Mujeres, Robert got up early to go diving. I chilled out at the hostel. Robert came back from diving in the afternoon. We went to have lunch at the market. After eating we went to the beach and stayed there the whole afternoon.
When we came back to the hostel, we went to the beach bar and met Micheal, Lee, Sam and Fhilpipe. They were having beers already. We had to catch up with them. We went to have a shower and came back to them agian. Fhilippe has been living here for three months so he knows a good place to eat. We decided to go and have dinner to gether. Heather, a Canadian girl also join us.
On the way to the restaurant, Fhilippe´s mom, who was visiting him at the time, also joined us for dinner. Fhilippe wanted to take us to a restaurant next to the beach but it was closed. So we walked all the way back, searching for another restaurant. We walked pass by one local restaurant that Robert and I alwarys went for dinner(because it´s cheap and very good). We decided to have dinner there.
The retaurant was small. We were 8 people so it was kind of big orders for them. We ordered foods and beers.
Sam who had been having stomachproplems ordered a very interesting menu. Fhilippe´s mom also ordered the same menu which called "Pollo de Mole" (chicken with schocolate sauce). Robert and I were drinking beers but the others were drinking Michilada; beer with salt, lemon and some spicy sauce.
We were pretty hungry so we finished our dinner very fast but not Sam. Because of his stomachproplems, he had to eat and drink slowly. So we had to wait for him. Till everybody finished drinking, Sam was done with his food but not his Michilada. At the mean time Lee ordered himself an espresso. Then we kind of forced Sam to finish his Michilada!!! He gave it to us. He drank it EX!!! Good job Sam!!!
We all were talking and having fun but not Sam(again). Sam was sitting with his head down, not saying anything. We looked at him and kind of realized that he was not doing well but no one said anything.
Suddenly I saw Sam was trying to keep his food and his Michilada down but it didn´t work the way he wanted.
While we were talking and having fun, Sam just threw up right there!!! where he was sitting in a small restaurant!!!
After throwing up, Sam was standing up and said (with his strong British accent) "What the fuck did just happened???" and he was also hloding his puke, showing it to us. At that moment we were all standing( a bit far from Sam and the table), not knowing what to do and say.
At that time there was a couple at the table next to us and about to eat!!! Poor them!!! I felt so sorry for them.
We were still standing and saying nothing. Then I got myself together and told Sam to go to the bathroom. We couldn´t let peopele at the restuarant clean up so we started to clean it up on our own. I almost couldn´t hold it. My dinner also wanted to come out!!!
Sam came out from the bathroom, apologized us and helped us to clean up his mess. When Sam was cleaning, Lee(a good friend of Sam) was just standing and drinking his espresso.
After we got our job done, everything was (kind of) clean agian. We apologized people from the restaurant and also the couple who were about to eat:-) Then we left the restaurant. Since then we have become a family. Our family name is "Pukesons"
Sam went back to the hostel to get rest. So now it was only 7 of us, Lee, Michael, Heather, Fhilippe and his mom, Robert and I. Our night was not over yet. We went to a bar at the corner of the walking street. We had some beers and taquilas. This bar was just right next to the street. When we were sitting and drinking at the bar, we saw some police searching 2 guys. I think they were searching for drugs. The police got them into a police car. Maybe they had something. They police also searching another guy. They made him take off his shoes but it seemed like the police didn´t find anything so they let him go. The bartender told us that it was just a show for them because it happened everyday.
Sitting at only one bar was boring for us so we moved to another bar which which had music and drubnk people and also some people even dressed up becuase it was (almost) Halloween.
After awhile Lee left to see if Sam was alright and Heather also left. She was tired. Now it was only 5 of us, Michael, Fhilippe and his mom, Robert and I. We were dancing a lot. Fhilippe was dancing with his mom. It was really nice to see, very cute. We were dancing and having fun until the bar was closing. Fhilippe sent his mom to sleep.
Now it was only 4 of us, Micheal, Fhilipe, Robert and I. We were pretty drunk and hungry but we didn´t wanna go home. So I asked one girl if she knew somewhere that we could buy something to drink or even something to smoke:-) She said she didn´t know because she was not from here but she was nice to send me one of her friend who was from here and knew where to get something to drink but it was closed when we got there. Then we asked him if he had something to smoke or knew where to get it from. He told us that today was too late to get it and he left us, just like that.
So nothing more to drink and smoke. We decided to go to 7-11. We went crazy in 7-11, searching for something to eat. Robert and I went for noodle cups. Fhilippe and Micheal went crazy with hotdogs. They were just standing next to the hotdog machine(whatever you will call it) ans they were eating lots of hotdogs. When they were full, done with hotdogs, now it came, how much did they eat???, how much should they pay for??? It was a long discussion. It ended up like they had 6 hotdogs each!!!
We left 7-11, finding the way home. We went to one street that we thought it was the right street to went to our hostel. Fhilippe said goodbye because he was staying at the place that his mom was staying.
So now it was only 3 of us, Michael, Robert and I. We went along the street, thinking it was the right street. Until we saw the end of the street, the hostel was not there!!!(the hostel is located at the end of the street next to the beach). We were laughing and thinking that we were sp stupid but actaully were drunk more than stupid:-)
So whatever we decided to walk along the beach. It was nice to wal next to the beach anyway. We were walking and talking. We were almost there, at the hostel. We were really close to our hostel(about 200-300 meters away) but what was closer to us than the hostel was a groupe of police!!! It was 7 or 8 of them!!!
I saw them before they saw me. At that moment I thought "Shit! They are gonna get us!" And yeah!!! I was right!!!
7 - 8 of them(2-3 of them were in the car) walked to us and told us to raise our hands up in the air. And we did. That moment the alcohol in our body or blood had gone away. We were sober again!!!
They told us it was just a "routine search". They were speaking only Spanish. Ok, let´s do it then!!! They started to search us. The woman police was searching me. She took everything out of my pockets. And it happened that I was having my days so I had tampons in my pocket:-) She took the tampons out of my pocket and look at them. To make sure that she knew what it was, I asked her " Do you know what it?" And I was about tio say that it was not something to smoke:-) but I didn´t have a chance to say that. She just put my tampons back into my pocket again without saying anything. She also took all my money (300-400 Mexican pesos) out of my pocket. She looked at it and put it back into my pocket again. I was keeping my eyes on her just to make sure that she didn´t take my money. She asked me(in Spanish) where we were staying. I told her that we stayed at Poc Na, just over there. She was trying hard to have a conversation with me in Spanish. I understood what she was saying but I just did like I didn´t understand. I tried to make it difficult for her.
Then I was cleared. I was about to go. I turned to Robert who was told to sit on a bench not far from me. One police was standing next to him. But he was fine.
I turned to Michael(Poor Irish guy)!!! At that moment that I looked at him, I couldn´t believe what I was seeing!!!I saw a small bag of marijuana in one police´s hand who was searching him!!! I looked at Michael and he told me that the fucking police put it in his pocket and pretened to find to!!!
Hearign and seeing that got me went crazy. No fear, only madness. We were surrounded by about 7-8 police and 2-3 were waitign in the car. One police even open the bag of marijuana and smelled it. Come on guys!!! We are not stupid!!!
Michael looked upset about it but I went madly crazy. When I saw one police was about to put handcuffs on him and at the same time one police got his neck!!!
I went crazy. I started to like..." No no no it´s not gonna happen. We will fight! We will sue them. We will go to court if we have to. That´s not gonna happen. We are not stupid. No no stupido!!!" Michael looked at me surprisingly and said "No we were not stupid, no stupido".
Robert came up with " I know people in Mexico. You will have proplems". He repeated it like three times or more. The fucking police kept asking if we spoke Spanish. We pretended not to understand. Then it was silent awhile. One of us (don´t remember who) said "Let´s go". We just started to walk away. The police didn´t do or say anthing more to us. We were walking away until we were about 2-3 meters far from them. We stoped and Michael checked his money if the police took it or not. They didn´t take any money from him. Michael had about 2,000 pesos with him. Then we kept walking and the fucking idiot police drove away.
We walked in our hostel and couldn´t go to sleep. It was just too crazy for us. It was about 7 a.m. we sat down at the hostel and talked about what just happened. It was just too crazy to believe but we made fun of it. We did a good job. We fucked them up!!! After talkign while we went to sleep and got up in the afternoon.
When I got up I was thinking like "shit!!! did it really happen to us??? shit!!! we were lucky!!!.
Michael got up before us and it seemed like he had told everybody about our story. We walked out of the room people who knew us just started to ask and talk about the story. We were kind of well known but the most well known person was Sam. We were wondering that who told his story to other people. But then it was clear when we saw a couple who was about to eat in the retaurant. They also stayed at our hostel.
Late afternoon, we met anotherIrish guy who also stayed at the same hostel. He told us his story. He told us that last night he and one friend of him went to the beach. It was about 5-6 a.m. They wanted to smoke at the beach. They were about to smoke but 2 police came to them and the police found his marijuana. He said he had about 7-8 gramms of marijuana in a bag!!! He put 100 pesos in to one of the police´s hand and the police let them go!!!
So we assumed that that bag of marijuana that the fucking police put into Michael´s pocket was from this Irish guy!!! Great!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb