Final leg of the journey


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
January 20th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

chichen itzachichen itzachichen itza

the market place
So here I am in sunny Playa del Carmen... It´s a bit of a culture shock after the last few places. Loads of tourists, everyone speaks english, and there´s even a macdonalds (yuck!). Luckily the prices are not much higher than elsewhere. It seems to be a really nice town actually, gorgeous beaches, funky bars, excellent food, lovely people. To be honest I´m just pleased to have four nights without travelling.

Having said that, my one big trip before leaving will be visiting Chichen Itza. These are Mayan ruins, and are supposed to be some of the best. It´s also infamous for the number of sacrifices there. Nice. It´s an 8 hour round trip, so here´s hoping it´s worth it...

Since my last blog, I went to Caye Caulker, in Belize. This is a lovely little Carribean island (it´s a hard life). Unfortunately I wasn´t feeling on top form for the first day (dodgy food methinks), but off all the places to feel pants, I´d rather feel pants in the Carribean than elsewhere!

When my stomach had recovered sufficiently, I went on a full day snorkelling trip. Well swimming in deep water isn´t usually my favourite thing, I
chichen itzachichen itzachichen itza

an example of the carvings
love snorkelling and so after the usual diva strop, I finally inched my backside into the water.

It was amazing! We saw loads of coral reef, of all different shapes and sizes. At times it was very shallow (only a metre deep or so), and at others, really really deep. You could see the fish under the coral, we saw butterfly fish, sting rays (including a HUGE one), a huge green mray eel, and also a SHARK! Ok, so it was only a nurse shark, but still... I touched it and everything! It was a wonderful day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

CenoteCenote
Cenote

not the best photo ever, but this is a Cenote (an underground pool). The things coming down are tree roots.
The beach...The beach...
The beach...

Tulum beach, beautiful!
The beach number 2...The beach number 2...
The beach number 2...

Tulum beach again, it really was this lovely. And just out of shot was a bar on the beach. Heaven on earth.


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb