Jungle lodge #2


Advertisement
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The riverThe riverThe river

This is the river Becky and I hiked along.
I'm staying in another jungle lodge, this time in Belize. This lodge has composting toilets, tarantulas and army ants. Oh fun! If slightly scary! Yesterday we arrived at lunchtime, then promptly went tubing. This is where you go down a river on a huge inner tube, over rapids and everything. It was slightly hair-raising, particularly the time where I came off after a rapid, then found myself in a real life whirl pool! Luckily I lived to tell the tale...

Today we went for a hike across jungle territory to some waterfalls. It was a round trip of 12 miles. It was actually quite easy going, but we didn't take enough water and by the end walking in the sun was very hard work! We had to stomp our feet to scare of any snakes. I think I saw the backend of one as it disappeared... There's a photo of me looking particularly attractive at the end. I have lovely suntan marks from my rucksack and my walking boots. One of the dogs from the lodge decided to follow us, which was quite reassuring as we strolled past machete wielding locals (it's ok, the machetes are for the trees, before
The end of the walkThe end of the walkThe end of the walk

Becky and I at the end of the walk, looking good!!!
you freak out!). But at the lodge nearest the falls there was two german shepards that were trained to kill any strange animals on their territory. Nice. This made for a slighter shorter (and more stressful) stay at the falls.

Anyway, off to the Carribean and Caye Caulker tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The teletubby hillsThe teletubby hills
The teletubby hills

The wonderful teletubby hills we saw, I think they had hidden Mayan temples underneath...
companycompany
company

This gorgeous doggy kept us company all through the walk, she was lovely:)


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb