Palenque


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
October 29th 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The jungle at last!

Honestly, I must have lived in a jungle in a previous life because I just love these places.

I was raining from the moment we arrived. And not just any rain... it was bucketing down non stop. But, it was lovely and humid and warm.

We got to our lodge in time for dinner and to listen to the band. The mood was a little sober as Natalie had just lost all her important stuff in the theft... passport, cash, travelers cheques... the works. The next day she spent with our tour leader at the local police station and at the internet cafe arranging a new passport, travelers cheques, insurance stuff, etc. It was all done, so by the end of the day she was a happy camper again.

The rest of us went to visit the amazing Palenque ruins. It was still raining when we started but actually cleared up just in time for our guided tour. We also went on an interesting jungle walk... not much of a path, lots of mud, spikey trees and just the best time! I did think about asking the guide whether or not they had lots of snakes, but thought it better not to know. I found out at the end of hike that all the snakes apparently come out as soon as the rain stops... eww. I´m glad I didn´t know that fact whilst trudging through the jungle.

I forgot to add the story of what else happened the night we had arrived. Merryn had gotten to our room first and greeted me at the door saying, "Just a warning so you don´t freak out... There is a huge dragon fly in the bathroom." "No worries. I´m not fussed about dragon flies, they don´t bite." was my reply.

So, into the bathroom I walked. Dragon fly started buzzing against the light, so, jumping out of my skin and in my haste to get out of the bathroom quickly, I discovered the tiles were super slippery... and of course ended up on my arse and in fits of laughter. That one kept me laughing all night actually.

The other interesting thing that happened at the lodge was whilst we were all having an afternoon nap. The rain just was not letting up at all. I awoke to a massive crash - sounded like a bomb - and saw movement out on our balcony. Had someone actually bombed us? Nope. A massive tree branch had crashed down onto our roof, denting it, and breaking into pieces on our balcony. The bulk of the branch ended up on the ground in one solid chunk. I would hate to think of what would have happened if someone had been standing on the balcony just at that moment.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Don't try this at home, kids.Don't try this at home, kids.
Don't try this at home, kids.

Back in Oaxaca we had discovered a lovely drink called a Myan Sacrifice. I can't now remember what was in it, but it was pretty much 3-5 different types of alcoholic drinks thrown together. In Oaxaca, they lit it up and let the flame go out, then one would happily sip it slowly. Here in Palenque, it was different. It still got lit, but one had to drink it down all at once - flame and all. The photo doesn't show the flame, but let me assure you it was there. I burned my tonsills! On the positive side, I was 'instantly' very happy. And also, I'm unlikely to get tonsilitis ever again...


29th October 2008

Hey jungle girl............
................keep your eye out for Tarzan ; )
30th October 2008

YouJane..........
So does this mean you are now Jane!!!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb