Final Days


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
September 18th 2007
Published: September 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Carnival PrideCarnival PrideCarnival Pride

My home for the past 4 months
Sometimes I cannot believe this is my life. I am cantering through the ocean with waves splashing up around my ankles. This crazy Mexican horse seems to be afraid of the water but I cannot help but drive it back into the crashing surf. For a few moments I am alone on the beach somewhere off the coast of Mazatlan, Mexico. I am pushing this horse as fast as it can possibly run down the endless sandy beach, with nothing in the distance but a hazy horizon. Don't ask me how I got a horse onto the beach in the middle of nowhere. it's part of the adventure. I haven’t felt this free in a long time.

Fast forward a few weeks filled with pleasant evenings spent hanging in the crew lounge and wandering the streets of familiar ports. A hurricane rerouted us back to the coast of California for a week. I had the opportunity to explore San Diego during the middle of a lazy weekday with friends who have never been there. We went to the San Diego Zoo and watched polar bears paddle in water that must have been much too warm, and watched sea lions perform
Catalina IslandCatalina IslandCatalina Island

re-routed for the day to beautiful catalina island!
tricks for sardines. Then we grabbed a lunch of freshly caught fish on the harbor and then went to explore a Pirate Ship and old submarine down the dock. Let me say I will never complain about my accommodations at Carnival after seeing that submarine!! The eating area doubles as the medical center and the sailors slept on metal springs with wool blankets, stacked 3 high in the engine room. Yeah I think my double closet and private toilet are looking pretty sweet right about now.

Last week was my final visit to Puerto Vallarta. About 20 of us got passes to a gorgeous resort down in Nuevo Vallarta, where food, drinks and entertainment were all inclusive. We lay around for hours alternating swimming and sleeping, and then danced wrecklessly in the ocean for over an hour.

For a little while I wasn’t sure if I would sign another contract. I don’t believe that I handled some things well these past few months and I am afraid of repeating my mistakes because I don’t quite know what I can learn from them except to be careful with my priorities. But when I find myself at a beautiful resort
Nikki BeachNikki BeachNikki Beach

At one of our favorate resorts in Cabo San Lucas, where instead of pool lounges there are giant canopy beds
sharing Pina Coladas with some of my favorite people, watching the sun set behind palm trees and shimmering ocean, how could I possibly want to be anywhere else?

I am grateful to say I have no regrets. Looking back, the things I wanted most out of this contract came true - I traveled to amazing places and made amazing friends, and in the end I can leave all of that extra drama behind. I will take with me memories of exotic courtyards, statues silhouetted behind sunsets, frolcking in the ocean, and many many nights spent talking about everything and nothing at all.

Coming up I’ll be house hopping throughout Austin, Michigan, Boston and New York, then I am filling in for a month on the Carnival Ecstacy out of Galveston. Then I have November off, so If you want some Alaine-time drop me a line and maybe I’ll find my way to your neck of the woods if I can. In December, I board the Carnival Inspiration out of Tampa, routed for Cozumel and Grand Cayman. Future's looking bright...



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Supplies for Casa Hogar OrphanageSupplies for Casa Hogar Orphanage
Supplies for Casa Hogar Orphanage

We raised $900 for the orphans of Casa Hogar by holding a benefit showcase with the dancers, then went to Costco and bought them everything they said they needed.
DanielDaniel
Daniel

My favorate kid at Casa Hogar
All smilesAll smiles
All smiles

Sunny day in San Diego
Pirate ShipPirate Ship
Pirate Ship

Captain of the Pirate Ship!
We can fly!We can fly!
We can fly!

Peter Pan would be proud!
ViciousVicious
Vicious

At the San Diego zoo they had children's animal outfits. I'm so catty...heheh
I see London I see FranceI see London I see France
I see London I see France

We just couldn't help ourselves
Inside the SubmarineInside the Submarine
Inside the Submarine

They said that 54 men cohabitated in this thing. I will never be ungrateful for my space on the ship now.


18th September 2007

Like a fantasy!
Thanks for adding all the blog postings, Alaine - It sounds amazing! You're welcome at my place if you need somewhere to crash while in Austin. At the very least, we definitely need to get together for drinks!
18th September 2007

Alaine dearest, It is so good to hear from you again, As usual you sound great and seem to have a way of making friends and having fun where ever you are, If you are going to be in NY we all want a chance to see you, And if you want to see the ballet or theatre just let me know. Rachel was just here for a couple of days and we all got together for dinner here last night. Right now I am planning to be in Cal, for Thanksgiving. Will you be there, too ? I love you, sweetie, Can't wait to see you. nana ricki
19th September 2007

House Hop Here
Dear Alaine, You've had some wonderful adventures; I'm sure you could write a book. We'd love to see you in South Carolina if you want to visit. We're near Charleston, Savannah and Hilton Head. Just call and drop by y'all. Love, Cory and Phil

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb