time is a tickin...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
November 13th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well another week has flown by and I cant even explain how fast time is going. Everyone is getting exciting to go home and start packing but at the same time its really sad. Most of the exchange students I will probably never see again. It just seems like such a shame to spend all this time with everyone and build so many friendships and then have everyone leave. I guess thats the way it goes and even though it sucks I know for sure that theres a handful of people that I will be visiting especially jason in vancouver and heather in new york.
This last week has been pretty lowkey once again. We were in the process of planning a trip to Zacatecas for last weekend but then we decided we only have 2 weekends left here in mazatlan before people start leaving so we may as well hang around.
anyways, I had my third partial exam for Espanol last Wednesday so on Tuesday night me Emmy Lucy and Munroe met at the Hookah bar in the golden zone and studied for it. It was a good time and we tried watermelon Shisha which was like heaven it was so damn good. The exam ended up really well with all of us getting over 80 so our teacher was really proud of us. After the test on WEdnesday me Nina Brandy Emmy and Munroe went to Royal Villas Hotel and crashed their pool. me and nina played volleyball against munroe and it was super funny cuase we sucked so bad. Afterwards me Larri and Jason went to the movie United 93 which I really didn´t like for many reasons but whatever it was cheap and something to do.
On THursday it was Jason´s birthday so after bongos and then teaching English with Heather I met everyone down at the Plaza. It was so fun because almost All the exchange students showed up and we had about 10 tables all pushed together. Jason felt special. We hung out there for a long time and drank pina coladas and ate birthday cake from Panama. It was great. In the street b hte plaza they had the bull thing set up becuase it was the anniversary of this bar with a bullfighting theme. At first there was Flamenco dancing and singing and it was cool and the I saw the "bulls" which were really just little steers and it was funny. Everyone was so impressed that I knew they were called steers because most of them had no idea. Yep I definately represented on that one. Anyways, so it was taking so long for them to release the bulls that lots of us decided to go to Fish taco in the plaza where they have 3 for 25 peso beer. and THen we hung out there so long that we missed the steer fighting altogether but no one cared because we were having so much fun. Me and Cam got hungry and I thought I knew where there was a taco stand so we went to find it but I was definately wrong and we ended up wondering centro for about an hour until we finally found a taco stnd. but it was worth it cause they were SOOOOO good.
On Friday after class me nina and jason tried to go surfing. we borrowed lauras board because the three of us only have one and went to the beach. it was so funny because there were litterally almost no waves at all but we were determined that they were coming so we went out anyways and looked like idiots trying to ride basically nothing. we were laughing almost the whole time at our ridiculousness but it was fun so it didnt matter. afterwards we were planning on going to the karaokee bar with a bunch of exchange tsudents but I definately fell asleep and didnt make it otu.
on saturday me nina and jason decided to try surfin agina in the morning at 9 ish cause thats supposedly when there are good waves. so we headed to the beach again at 9 only to discover that AGAIN there were no waves. i just dont thik we are meant for this surfing business. so then me and jason decided to play some tennis seeing as we have courts at the rauet club that we´ve never used. so we played for about 2 hours and really sucked but it was fun and then carlos and heather came and joined us and we played doubles. it was funny because jason was super into it and all hardcore about winning and I kept screwing it up. good times.
after that me and heather took them jetskiing for their birthdays. it was alittle pricey (40 bucks for a half hour) but none of us had gone before and they were really excited so it was totally worth it. it was so fun and we were definatlye driving a little crazy because carlos and heather fell off about 5 teims and then one time the thing around his wrist that pulls off when you fall so it shuts off broke....and it kept running while they were in the water. me and jason looked over and were like haha they fell off again and then we were like HOLY SHIT its still running what the hell. and then we saw carlos throw off his lifejacket and start swimming like a mcachine until he caught it and shut it off....it was so funny. me and jason fell off once and we flew abot 20 feet. I dont really know how that happened but it was a fun time. jason had a waterprooif camera so we took that and got a lot of pictures. Afterwards we crashed the pool at El Cid but the security guard told us we coud only go in if we bought a drink. its weird now becuase there are so many tourists now that security is getting a lot tighter. so we had to but a drink and then we used the pool and took more pics with the waterproof camera in the pool. They turned out really funny. after that we got some Puro Pollo...basicaly mazatlans version of KFC except its actually good.....REALLY good. and cheap too.
Saturday night we went to some Tec girls bithday party where there was a massive BBQ and free beer and it was a good time. I got to practice some spanish which was good but really hard because it was all students who talk a lot of slang and i definately dont learn that in my spanish class. Afterwards we went to frogs which sucked so we went home.
yesterday i was sore form tennis and jetskiing so me and jason went and rented nacho libre and enron and watched movies all day. Nacho Libre was funny because lots of the stuff that you see in it I have seen here a lot like the little cart he drives and all the posters for Lucha Libre competitions which I relaly want to go to sometime. then i just went home adn read my book for about 5 hours and went to bed.
today we have a site visit to the cervezeria which is the beer factory. we wer stuposed to go back when the hurricane was here so it got cancelled. it should be interesting. then me and Claudia are gonna go gget some groceries and i´ll see where the night takes me from there.
cliff gets here in 9 days which is really exciting and i can´t wait to see him. Landon is coming too and its gonna be So much fun. im happy that someone gets to meet all my friends down here and hang out for a while.
peace out
sarah

Advertisement



Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb