TWO WEEKS IN THE YUCATAN: April 2016


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
July 29th 2016
Published: July 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The most recent trip to the Yucatan was more than wonderful. Although it wasn’t the first time I have traveled to foreign soils to relax, read and take a break from stresses, both real and imagined, that’s exactly what this trip meant to me.

Staying at Ms. Ophelia’s Hotel Mucuy is always a vacation in itself. I read, napped and sat in solitude in the courtyard of the beautiful no-frills establishment in the heat of the Yucatan during the day. I ventured to the heart of Centro, the historical district, after the sun sank and the breezes cooled the land and occupants.

I saw many friends and didn’t realize how deeply I miss this lovely part of the universe until this trip.

My friend Guillo and I had lunch outside of Centro in a new, chic restaurant named Chichi’s and were there for hours. What a great reunion!

I had planned to visit the communities of Chelem and Churburna with their farmer’s markets and to explore a new establishment named Lizard Joe’s but, alas, I didn’t. Next time I will. I promise.

Parque de Santa Lucia has grown! There are now many more places to eat,
HeribertoHeribertoHeriberto

Café Jose Peon Contreras
drink and shop while leaving the bleachers for those who come to listen to the music and watch the weekly Serenata.

The restaurants of the park where I dined this trip included Bryan’s Burger Bar and La Trotto’s. Both had excellent and filling fare. I especially liked that I could return to the hotel with the remainder of my bottle of bubbly!

Hope to return again before the end of the year. Hope to live there again soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

JoseJose
Jose

Has moved up in management at La Parrilla!
AlejandroAlejandro
Alejandro

Manager, La Trotto and Bryan's Burger Bar


4th August 2016

Love it!
It's always a joy to "follow" your treks, Ms. Patt!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb