Mahahual and then to Merida


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
August 7th 2006
Published: August 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Zocalo in MeridaZocalo in MeridaZocalo in Merida

Just to show its not ALL beaches and drinking
Having left the guys early in the morning to get back to Mexico in time to avoid spending the night in Chetumal I don´t really remember any of the journey (other than the fact that I slept for the whole way and always had lots of space on the bus...could have been because I smelt?!)

Caught the bus to this tiny little remote town south of Tulum called Mahahual. Again, it is meant to be amazing to dive there as the reef has loads of wrecks which are easily dived. This is what I had planned to do but when I arrived I discovered that there were no hostels in the town...only a few expensive hotels or really shabby beach cabanas, which when you are on your own were still fairly expensive...anyway, so I decided that I would go to Merida the next day and had a quiet night on my own, not that there´s much else to do seeming as most of the town only has electricity between 6 and 9pm!

The whole of the next day was spent on the bus to Merida, I arrived and found a hostel which was pretty nice with little overground swimming
Beach side sign in MahahualBeach side sign in MahahualBeach side sign in Mahahual

Wishful thinking perhaps?
pool and garden area, and its always good when you arrive to be greeted with a beer! Spent the night chilling in the garden with the other people, although as there were no other English people, only Spanish, Italian and Mexican the whole conversation (well, most of it!) was in Spanish which was quite a test...

In the morning I wandered around Merida and bought myself a hammock (another one i know but a) this one is much better! and b) when you lie for hours in it everything will become clear!) and booked my bus ticket to go to Playa del Carmen, which is supposed to be a much more European party town than Cancun, for the final tough few days before I come home...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

LOOK! cultural stuff!


8th August 2006

The Last Blog?
I am assuming that this will be the last blog before your return home. It seems to have been an epic trip and the memories (those not obscured by alcohol) hopefully will keep you 'warm' through the winter of renewed studying and work. At least I feel you have used the summer 'profitably' and I am sure that you also feel that it has been a wonderful journey and collection of experiences. It seems a long time since Oaxaca - probably even longer for you.... See you soon!

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb