Final entry!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
August 14th 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After Merida I went across to Playa del Carmen for a bit a relaxation before heading home...Playa is still a pretty big resort town now but not in the hyperactive American style of Cancun, more Europeanised and relaxed, while still having lots of good quality nightlife and beaches. I met a couple of medics from King's, Anita and Steph, and a guy from Glasgow called Matt in the hostel here and basically spent the next couple of days with them having lots of fun, drinking far too much and sleeping far too little! About the only thing I did here of any real note was a couple of dives, which were notable for 2 main reasons. The current here was so strong that you barely had to swim at all, just drift along which was pretty cool, and on the first one we saw about 10 turtles, some of which were massive, equally cool!

We spent a couple of days in Playa, before coming back to Cancun for "the world's biggest beach party" (which we couldn't even find/had closed by the time we arrived...a bit of an anticlimax!!), but we still managed to not let this spoil our fun at all...It just was really good to end on such a high by meeting some like-minded people who were a lot of fun to go out partying with!

So, with not much else to report, and no photos, I thought I'd make a little list of the things I can take away from my trip:

1) Hammocks are possibly the greatest invention known to man. Ever.
2) Capitalism, for all its faults, just makes life a whole lot easier.
3) The Rough Guides are truly shite when it comes to backpacking.
4) I'm still a pussy when it comes to hot sauce.
5) I still really, really hate tequila. Although I have developed quite a taste for rum.
6) I have a real dislike (fear?!) of sunbathing, although I am getting to quite like the beach.
7) I am not cut out for reading works of high literature.
8) I love being weightless (in reference to diving rather than anorexia!).
9) Coriander is now almost bearable.
10) Packing when still drunk/horrifically hungover/on 2 hours sleep is neither fun nor advisable, but somehow still seems to happen worryingly frequently.


Anyway, that just about wraps it up now I'm back in England ready (or more realistically, not ready) to join the real world...how scary!

It's been a fantastic two months; I've met loads of really wicked people, seen some amazing stuff, spent far too much money but had too many wonderful experiences to count...and on that cheesy note I guess I will have to end.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb