Incrediable Weekend!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
May 28th 2007
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My FM3 paperwork (work visa) was sent to me at 5pm on Friday. I was so excited! Now (Monday) it may be going to crap unless the company I work with does magic. Otherwise, I'll just have to keep renewing my visitor's permit. (Nope. I won't do immigration bashing since I'm not in my country although I'm perfectly legal here.)

Saturday A.M. headed to the beach again. No real beach time this day. Was looking for shoe shop (shoes? who me?) that I had found in January before I moved (temp) down here. Alas, I didn't find it but had a great time walking and looking. Took some more pictures and even finished a roll I had started last month. I promise to develop soon when..... Tried my ATM before leaving Merida. Think my Beaumont bank thinks the card is stolen (again) and cut it off. On a holiday weekend of course. I'll just be frugal.

Got back from the beach, cleaned up and neighbor and I did a walking tour of restaurants / bars within a considerable distance from the apts. Amazing how far you can walk when you're on a mission!

I now know that the 7-11 is open 24 hrs because we were there at 2 am! We managed to drink all the beer and all of 1 liter of Jack that I had at the apt before I cried uncle. He left for the 7-11 again in search of food (I was not going to cook) and I went to sleep.

Sunday P.M. (slept late), neighbor didn't feel like exploring downtown. (Here you say YEAH 5 ft almost 2 in gal that can hold her liquor! and the 6 ft 4 baseball player can't!) SO I set out walking to find a taxi (remember, can't find parking, plus they close off the main avenue on Sundays). Got about 1+ miles and still no taxi stands or passing. Stopped at a nice restraurant I'd been to before for a cold one and the possibility that someone could call a taxi for me. Brand new friend took me downtown on his motorcycle!! He didn't drive crazy like all the fast food delivery guys. He knew where the parking lot was! We danced, ate, drank, danced in the rain and talked to the HUNDREDS of people there! Had the BEST time. Said the weather kept the people away, but I can't imagine how many more would / could be there!

It's like New Orleans / Jackson Square! Street vendors, craft booths all around the parks (as in multiple), street musicians. Yes, I have pics of this too when the bank gets me switched back on.

Back from downtown, looking like drowned rats (motorcycle in the rain) we had a last stop at TGI Fridays which is right around the corner from my apt. My neighbor was there as were two of my other friends and their friends. Party was on again. Mexicans believe in partying pretty late!

Back to work today while y'all had a holiday. Good day despite FM3 situation and the bank not open to fix the problem. Really frugal now. Will be keeping more money on me from now on.......

Those things had me pretty stressed this evening (but first time I've been stressed since being in the Yucatan). In this stressed condition I was putting off walking to the 7-11 to replace beer and cigs I'd had help consuming over the weekend because it was raining - big sprinkles. Finally decided I would just get wet again. Got to the apt gate, saw my car, and said, 'Dumb ass, you have a car!' I now have cigs and beer and less pesos......

The adventures continue.

I hope y'all enjoy reading this blog 'cause I feel more connected and not so English confined.

Love to all.

Patt

Advertisement



Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb